Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 03-08-2021, 09:10 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Questioning IF we can do a solar install????

Hello everyone! We are new Minnie TT owners and although I have some experience camping, driving...technically we are both babes in the woods. We are researching a solar installation on our TT and just spoke to a gentleman that installs and told us it is not worth it....not enough space on top of our 25' TT....get a generator. Continuing to look for installers (do you know anyone? Will travel!)

I've been reading and it seems to me that if I have 600-750 W on top in panels,(two panels at 350W? Three 200W? What are your recommendations?) a 2000 - 3000V inverter/charger (Victron seems to be recommended?) then we should have enough space on top and power to maybe squeak out some AC time if we are out west in the heat this summer. We have propane fridge...don't need to use a microwave....do need a laptop occasionally....

Ready to throw up my hands and just get the obnoxious generator! Our plan is to leave Florida and travel about two months to daughter in Idaho circling through SW then back through Dakotas. Hopefully My husband (city boy) won't divorce me and we can continue to travel sporadically!

Thanks for any and all advice!
Laurahammie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2021, 09:29 AM   #2
Site Team

Yes... and NO.

The installer was correct. If you want to run the A/C and microwave - and charge up your TT's batteries you need a small portable generator... even if you have solar.