Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2007, 02:18 PM   #1
Winnie-Wise
 
Sammie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 489
My display panel for the Powerline Energy Management System seems to be working intermitantly.It is either on and showing power used or completly off. Everything electrical seems to be working as it should, its just that the display works only when it feels like it. There is a 5 amp fuse located on the EMS module and I changed it with no improvement. Anyone have this happen?
__________________
2015 Tiffin Bus 37AP
2016 Ford Explorer
"A Job Begun is Half Done"
Sammie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 02:18 PM   #2
Winnie-Wise
 
Sammie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 489
My display panel for the Powerline Energy Management System seems to be working intermitantly.It is either on and showing power used or completly off. Everything electrical seems to be working as it should, its just that the display works only when it feels like it. There is a 5 amp fuse located on the EMS module and I changed it with no improvement. Anyone have this happen?
__________________
2015 Tiffin Bus 37AP
2016 Ford Explorer
"A Job Begun is Half Done"
Sammie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2007, 05:26 PM   #3
Winnie-Wise
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Waynesboro,PA USA
Posts: 295
Yes, and when we pulled the EMS board forward, the connector into the display was bent down and the solder was broken. DH soldered it to the board and it is working fine.
__________________
Downsized Winnebago C, 24 V /08 Saturn Vue/2014 Town and Country Van/03 Goldwing (Big Red)Recently triked Roadsmith kit
Beabop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 03:36 AM   #4
Winnebago Owner
 
peter griffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 233
Sammie you need to check the converter ac output..if it reads more than .5 your converter is bad...i just went through this...everything works ok...except the ems...the problem arises when the converter sends out some type of "Noise" that the EMS does not know how to read. One suggestion if it is the converter call and make sure your dealer has one in stock.
ALso paralax the maker of my converter advised that it will not damage the batteries.

good luck
My converter is under the range drawer.

if you need help getting the ac current readings send me a private message.
__________________
Peter Griffin
2011 JAYCO 24 Z TOY HAULER -
2011 F250 Crew gas
peter griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 04:04 AM   #5
Winnebago Master
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 1,196
Take the cover off your 110v circuit breaker panel and check all the connections on LEFT side of the EMS board.
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA FMCA 335149 W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R W24, no chassis mods needed 2013 Honda Accord EX-L 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 07:14 AM   #6
Winnebago Camper
 
roaminhome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Southeast Arizona
Posts: 11
Sammie - on my 2006 33V Itasca, the powerline management system seems to work when using 30 amp service - nothing shows when I use 50 amp service. Does anyone know if I'VE got a problem?
__________________
Rob and Lynn Antos

2006 Itasca 33V
roaminhome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 08:45 AM   #7
Winnebago Master
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 1,196
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by roaminhome:
Sammie - on my 2006 33V Itasca, the powerline management system seems to work when using 30 amp service - nothing shows when I use 50 amp service. Does anyone know if I'VE got a problem? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Your EMS is working correctly. When plugged into 50amp no management is needed. When plugged into 50amps your EMS panel should look like this......



-Tom
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA FMCA 335149 W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R W24, no chassis mods needed 2013 Honda Accord EX-L 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 10:22 AM   #8
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 962
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by roaminhome:
Sammie - on my 2006 33V Itasca, the powerline management system seems to work when using 30 amp service - nothing shows when I use 50 amp service. Does anyone know if I'VE got a problem? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

In those cases when you are connected to a 20 amp circuit the EMS really has to manage your demands ... I have found that if I flip the circuit breaker for the second A/C (located at the foot of the bed on my rig) so that it never tries to start ... I will not pop the circuit breaker of the source (my kids houses, for example)
skigramp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 11:57 AM   #9
Winnebago Camper
 
roaminhome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Southeast Arizona
Posts: 11
Thanks Tom<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Tom N:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by roaminhome:
Sammie - on my 2006 33V Itasca, the powerline management system seems to work when using 30 amp service - nothing shows when I use 50 amp service. Does anyone know if I'VE got a problem? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Your EMS is working correctly. When plugged into 50amp no management is needed. When plugged into 50amps your EMS panel should look like this......



-Tom </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
__________________
Rob and Lynn Antos

2006 Itasca 33V
roaminhome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 10:59 AM   #10
Winnebago Owner
 
jackrobinryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wherever
Posts: 50
Having a similar problem that just appeared on our '07 38T.

Hooked up to 50 (surge protected) site -or- while on gen set, the EMS display Service Type LED is alternately flashing from 50A to 20A and back. (or w/ Genset running, from Genset to 20A and back)

Also, the Power Status LEDs all flash at the same interval.

Talked to Intellitec, Winnebago and the Converter tech supp folks and was told that AC noise more than .5VAC coming from the converter's DC output can cause this issue. (apparently a capacitor on that side having issues...)

Have to put a meter on the DC output of the converter and look for more than .5 VAC. Tech said they've seen as high as 28VAC. Not a wide spread problem yet, but more than they'd like to see.

Will share my findings asaic.

jack
__________________
2007 Adventurer 38T w/
sway & trac bars, Koni FSDs and SafeT+
2006 Jeep Liberty toad
jackrobinryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2007, 06:38 PM   #11
Winnebago Owner
 
peter griffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 233
jack they are correct but this is a widespread problem...it doesn't affect anything except the EMS....but my 12v kvh anntenna was just fried...so I am not sure if the ac noise did somehthing to it..if your ems is acting up it is mostlikey the converter. easssy fix but the dealers will not know what you are talking about...also i belive it is more than .5 vac and mine was 1.2....
__________________
Peter Griffin
2011 JAYCO 24 Z TOY HAULER -
2011 F250 Crew gas
peter griffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 02:37 AM   #12
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
We have a new '07 Voyage and seem to be having the same PowerLine erratic display problems. As far as I can tell it is functioning properly, just the display is screwed up. Is the trouble shooting technique described in this thread to use an AC volt meter on the DC output of the converter looking for more than 0.5VAC? We plan to inform dealer to remedy but it always helps to have done as much trouble shooting in advance. Thanks
TC&Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 03:22 AM   #13
Winnebago Master
 
John_Canfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Back at the ranch
Posts: 2,041
Welcome to the forum

Why not turn off the charger/converter and see what happens? I think you can do that with the Dimensions, but I'm not sure what's in your rig.

The best way to measure an AC component is with an oscilloscope, but your meter might give you a rough idea. Battery chargers (especially inexpensive ones) don't necessarily produce pure DC, they charge the battery in "pulses" of DC which is fine for charging purposes. Power supplies (and I suppose converters) are designed to directly power equipment and in this situation it is very important to have "pure" DC with no AC "ripple."

Back to your measurement idea - even if you came up with a reading, convincing the service people that it is perhaps indicative of a problem might be difficult.
__________________
--John

2005 Horizon 40AD, 2005 Jeep Liberty CRD
John_Canfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 06:07 PM   #14
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Jose, CA,US
Posts: 74
No lights on Powerline 2004 EMS at all

Our Powerline display is completely dark. Checked wires and all seem ok (read the note on the solder missing). Was working fine, though had to manage extreme heat and only 30 amp service. I did shut down the #2 compressor, but still had problems. I might be able to replace this myself if I can find the Display Panel. I called Intelliltec and they were very unhelpful since I'm not a dealer. Any other ideas?
__________________
2006 Itasca Meridian 36G

Towing a 2011 Honda CRV
Hardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2011, 11:15 AM   #15
Winnebago Watcher
 
Tincup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Full Timers - Where ever we're parked.
Posts: 1
Hardy,

My display just went blank a few days ago, I spoke to the Tech Supp guy at Intellitec and he was very helpful. I don't understand why they would help you. Anyway, if you remove the bezel from the display by GENTLY pushing down on the lower front of it you can get at the two mounting screws. Disconnect the cable (J5) you can check voltages. P1 - 12V, P2 - data (should read between 7-10Vdc, P3 - GND.

I have 13.53V on P1 and 9.83V on P2, still dark display. The EMS system works fine, I ran the generator and purposely overloaded the EMS system and it shed load like it should so that proved the EMS board itself is good. I'm in the process of ordering a new display.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Paul - WA1IWH

Margaret - She who must be obeyed.
Tincup is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powerline Amperage Display loss wfrazier Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 7 07-03-2011 09:39 AM
Powerline EMS - Water heater light will not light rv rick Plumbing | Systems and Fixtures 9 10-14-2008 03:20 PM
HWH Jacks working, not working and working again? Bob&Pat General Maintenance and Repair 6 06-08-2006 04:22 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×