Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 06-26-2021, 02:07 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Plugging in to house? Micro Minnie 1808FBS

Newbie here. Can you plug into house power? If so what do we need in order to do that?
Ponder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2021, 06:11 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

Yes you can, you will likely need an adapter to go from your rig power cord to your house rec. A common adapter is 30 amp (RV) to 15 amp (house power). But remember if your rig uses a 30 amp plug connecting to home power will only provide 15 or 20 amp depending on how the house is wired. The cord adapters are available at most RV shops on online.
Sparky19053 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2021, 07:16 PM   #3
Winnebago Master

To expand on Mrueth's response:

You'll need an appropriate adapter. This will be either a 30A (standard) to 15A adapter or a 50A to 15A adapter if you have the optional 50A shore power service. You can tell by the configuration of the plug on your shore power cord. Here are some links so you can determine which one you need:

30A: https://www.amazon.com/Epicord-Dogbo...NsaWNrPXRydWU=

50A: https://www.amazon.com/MICTUNING-Dog...xpY2s9dHJ1ZQ==

With the proper adapter, either will plug into a residential outlet or extension cord. If you use an extension cord, keep it as short as possible and use a heavy duty cord. This is key. There are tables online that will tell you the gauge cord you need based on distance and amps. In your case, I'd use 20A as your rating to be safe (you'll have less voltage loss):

https://www.protoolreviews.com/exten...re-gauge-amps/