Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-10-2009, 11:50 AM   #1
Winnie-Wise

Hi all,

Looking for some thoughts on what to check before bringing in the mechanic... no help in the owners manual.

RV - 2004 Winne Vectra DP
Gen - Onan 7500 watt "Quiet Diesel" model HDKAJ

Problem - Gen won't turn over. Holding down the start button until the green light stays solid and then pushing "start" just gives a soft clicking (like a relay) coming from the gen. No cranking at all.

Tried the usual suspects - diesel fuel at 3/4, coach batteries start DP engine, house batteries fully charged. (Not sure which starts the genset but both seem ok.) Blinking green light going solid tells me it should be heating/priming ok.

Any ideas what else I can easily check? I'm not a mechanic but do know the difference between a screwdriver and hammer .

Thanks,
Ed
emiddleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 01:10 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

I had this happen with my 4K gasser Onan in my Minnie Winnie. It ran fine while dry camping for 2 days, then just refused to start in the same way as yours. I reached inside, grabbed the flywheel, and managed to move it just slightly. The genny started up just fine and has run very well since. Mine apparently got stuck. It is a one cylinder/plug configuration and found just the right spot in the stroke when I shut it down to hang up.
mjbx5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 03:39 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner

Quote:
Forum Sponsors
Sounds like you aren't getting the necessary voltage to crank. Have you tried starting at the Generator? Sometimes this will work. You might also pressing the multi-battery switch while pressing the Generator start button. Let us know what you find.

2002 36GD Journey DL
Robert Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 03:49 PM   #4
Winnebago Master

Ed