Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-03-2020, 11:02 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

New Hike, battery not working

Just took delivery of a new Hike 17DB, planning on hitting the road on Monday. Dealer is an hour's drive away and I have some 12V experience, so hoping to sort this out without a drive.

When disconnected, no lights work, awning power light and motor don't work, bathroom fan doesn't work. But the slide-out power light comes on and it operates, as does the motor and light at the hitch.

I hooked up a generator, but it's only taking about 25 watts, and the battery shows 12.8V with the generator attached and detached. With the generator on, everything inside works as it should - lights, fan, power indicators.

It's like the battery is properly charged, the charger is supplying 12V when connected to external power, but something is preventing the battery from supplying most of the 12 circuits.

I haven't started checking fuses since everything works with external power. Any suggestions? (Also, is there any Winnebago support available today, and if so, what phone number?)

[Edit: Looking underneath for the circuit breaker. There are two small red rubber housings that appear to just cover a connection, and a larger metal box (3x5" maybe) closed with two screws in a metal plate, just behind the A-frame's cross brace. Is the circuit breaker inside that box?]
CaptnKidd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 11:11 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

Is there a coach/house battery disconnect switch, usually near the entrance door? Also known as a salesman switch. Might be labelled enable/disable?
Winterbagoal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 11:15 AM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winterbagoal View Post