Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-28-2018, 09:03 AM   #1
Winnebago Master

More solar panels?

Our new (2018) Fuse came with a DC refrigerator which seems quite good, but I fear may draw a lot of power from the house batteries. It also came with 2 roof-mounted flexible solar panels, each rated at 100 watts, and I do worry a bit about the battery drain when dry camping, which we do a fair amount of, but not normally for more than 1 or 2 days at any particular location.

I was thinking about adding one or 2 more panels to the roof, but really do not know if that will help much as I have no real experience with solar panels, so I hoped that I could get some answers to some basic questions.

1) The solar panels are rated at 5.9 amps each, but I never see more than 3 or 4 amps charging the batteries. Is the draw dependent upon the battery condition?

2) I assume solar panels are generally wired in parallel, so theoretically adding more panels should increase the available amperage, but does it really work that way? Or are there other limiting factors which keep the amperage low?

We do not generally use the TV or other high consumption devices, and the only draw we would normally expect is from the electronics in the engine compartment (185 HP Ford diesel), the electronics in the coach, some usb chargers and the refrigerator. Will more panels actually help? Or are they likely unnecessary? We live in southern Arizona so sunlight is not generally a problem.

The coach is so new that we have no experience from which to draw as to what to expect when dry camping and I worry that we will end up with dead house batteries after a day or two of camping.
AJMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2018, 05:30 AM   #2
Winnie-Wise