Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-11-2017, 02:52 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Looking at 2002-2008 Class C 29B. Your thoughts wanted.

Hi all, newbie here looking to buy my first RV and go full time. I've read a lot on the forum (and elsewhere on the web), been to a couple of dealerships and checked out several motorhomes of interest. Thanks to several posts here, I've concentrated so far on determining what layout and usability best will fit my lifestyle. To that end, I've determined the Winnebago/Itasca 29B Class C's would be a good choice.

Looking at primarily RVTrader.com (and a little bit at Craigslist), potential purchases range from 2002 to 2008 models. The 2002-2006 ones are mostly priced at or below $35K while the 2007-08 ones are generally $45K-up. Some questions arise from this analysis:

1) Are there major differences (mechanical, features, quality) among the different years? (I gather from several other threads that the differences between the same year Winnie/Itasca 29B are primarily cosmetic)

2) How much does mileage affect the maintenance costs (both annual and major repairs)? I realize that how well maintained the unit has been greatly affects this, but I'm looking for some general rules of thumb. Perhaps like with cars above 100K miles major items like timing belts and transmissions are much more likely to need repair.

3) In a similar vein, how much does age, regardless of mileage, affect the maintenance costs (both annual and major repairs)? I've read here where tires should be replaced anywhere from 5-8 years (depending on the writer's perspective). Are there other components (engine/chassis or within the coach) also age dependent regardless of the amount of their use?