Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2014, 06:46 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper
 
Tomtall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: S.W., Michigan
Posts: 31
House amp gauge only displays #'s on 30 amp.

My AC line amps display on my "Power Line" gauge on the system center only displays a number read out when hooked to 30 amp service. When hooked to 50 amp service the screen is blank/black. Has done this at several different RV parks and my polarity monitor says everything is a ok. Any ideas?
__________________
2003 Winnebago WFG33V Adventurer - 8.1 Gas, Workhorse Chassis - Medium Titanium Metalic

"For GOD'S sake, be human"
Tomtall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 06:48 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner
 
Ranger Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Where the Rig is Parked
Posts: 238
Mine does the same thing . . . Perfectly normal.
__________________
Steve and Joy
2011 Itasca Meridian 40u
Where we are now
Ranger Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 06:51 PM   #3
Winnebago Master
 
RickO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 656
Yep, it's working as designed.

I think the technical reason has something to do with how the two 50amp lines share a common neutral and accurately measuring amperage would be very difficult. In addition, since 50 amp service actually is making 100 amps available to your coach... I guess the thinking is that it's not necessary to monitor usage on the panel.

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 06:55 PM   #4
Winnebago Owner
 
336muffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 50
Working fine.
__________________
American Tradition 42R-Cadillac SRX Blue Ox Koni 5050XL MCD Scangauge D Samsung rf197
Fulltime since 2012
336muffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 07:06 PM   #5
Winnebago Camper
 
Tomtall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: S.W., Michigan
Posts: 31
Ok

Thanks guys. I can sleep tonight.
__________________
2003 Winnebago WFG33V Adventurer - 8.1 Gas, Workhorse Chassis - Medium Titanium Metalic

"For GOD'S sake, be human"
Tomtall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 07:42 PM   #6
Winnebago Master
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 1,196
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA FMCA 335149 W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R W24, no chassis mods needed 2013 Honda Accord EX-L 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 08:33 PM   #7
Winnie-Wise
 
Sammie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 489
And to add one more fact. When running the generator, the Amperage Display will show how many AMPs are being used.

Sammie
__________________
2015 Tiffin Bus 37AP
2016 Ford Explorer
"A Job Begun is Half Done"
Sammie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 08:49 PM   #8
Winnebago Master
 
FIRE UP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Out there, somewhere
Posts: 1,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomtall View Post
My AC line amps display on my "Power Line" gauge on the system center only displays a number read out when hooked to 30 amp service. When hooked to 50 amp service the screen is blank/black. Has done this at several different RV parks and my polarity monitor says everything is a ok. Any ideas?
Tomtall,
In my humble opinion, it's NOT working as designed. Mine, and several other coaches I've been in, that are the same era/make/model/type, also display the "50" amp, when plugged into a 50 amp service. I do have one friend that has an '06 Meridian 36G that does display only 30 amps, even when he's plugged into a 50 amp service. He's asked me why mine displays 50 when his displays 30 and we're both plugged into 50? I don't have a clue as to what the correct answer is.
Scott

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickO View Post
Yep, it's working as designed.

I think the technical reason has something to do with how the two 50amp lines share a common neutral and accurately measuring amperage would be very difficult. In addition, since 50 amp service actually is making 100 amps available to your coach... I guess the thinking is that it's not necessary to monitor usage on the panel.

Rick
Rick,
I'm by far, no expert on electricity and, on the electric side of these coaches but, just wondering, what "two 50 amp lines" are you talking about? There's only one cord and, it can plug into a 50 amp or, with the use of an adapter, can go into a 30 amp service. As I understand it, it's basically TWO, 125 VAC lines, being used in the Motor homes circuitry. One of them feeds one side and the other, feeds the other side. Are you saying that there's 50 amps in each leg of those 125V circuits?
Scott
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom N View Post
That is the same display I, and many others we travel with show, when hooked up to 50 amps.
Scott
__________________
2004 ITASCA HORIZON 36GD, 2011 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Toad '08 GL 1800 Gold Wing
Retired-29.5 yrs, SDFD, Ham - KI6OND
Me, Karla and the Sophie character, (mini Schnauzer)
FIRE UP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 09:01 PM   #9
Winnebago Master
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 1,196
I suggest reading the Intellitec manual and I quote the manual below.

"the 50 amp service indicator on the Remote Display does not light with the vehicle plugged into 240 Vac, 50 amp shore power service."
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA FMCA 335149 W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R W24, no chassis mods needed 2013 Honda Accord EX-L 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 09:38 PM   #10
Winnebago Master
 
grtharris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Skiatook, OK
Posts: 1,425
FIRE UP, Tell your friend to check his circuit breakers, the EMS is looking for 240VAC between the two power legs determine if the coach is connected to a 50 amp service. On some models the hot water heater breaker is one of he legs the EMS looks at for the 240VAC.
__________________
Grant & Pat
2014 Adventurer 35P
2012 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
grtharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 11:20 PM   #11
Winnebago Master
 
FIRE UP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Out there, somewhere
Posts: 1,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom N View Post
I suggest reading the Intellitec manual and I quote the manual below.

"the 50 amp service indicator on the Remote Display does not light with the vehicle plugged into 240 Vac, 50 amp shore power service."
Tom,
If that's the case, can they, or you, explain the picture above and, ours when we're plugged into a 50 amp service?
Scott
__________________
2004 ITASCA HORIZON 36GD, 2011 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Toad '08 GL 1800 Gold Wing
Retired-29.5 yrs, SDFD, Ham - KI6OND
Me, Karla and the Sophie character, (mini Schnauzer)
FIRE UP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 11:23 PM   #12
Winnebago Master
 
FIRE UP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Out there, somewhere
Posts: 1,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by grtharris View Post
FIRE UP, Tell your friend to check his circuit breakers, the EMS is looking for 240VAC between the two power legs determine if the coach is connected to a 50 amp service. On some models the hot water heater breaker is one of he legs the EMS looks at for the 240VAC.
I will advise him to look at the breakers. But, a question, if any of them are tripped, then wouldn't the item being serviced by that breaker be out of service?
Scott
__________________
2004 ITASCA HORIZON 36GD, 2011 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4 Toad '08 GL 1800 Gold Wing
Retired-29.5 yrs, SDFD, Ham - KI6OND
Me, Karla and the Sophie character, (mini Schnauzer)
FIRE UP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 07:30 AM   #13
Winnebago Master
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 1,196
Quote:
Originally Posted by FIRE UP View Post
Tom,
If that's the case, can they, or you, explain the picture above and, ours when we're plugged into a 50 amp service?
Scott
When plugged into 50amps the AC amps load meter shows nothing.

The water heater, AC comp #2, fan speed and refrigerator are all lite because they all can be operated at the same time when on 50amps.
So, there is no need for any "load sharing".

-Tom
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA FMCA 335149 W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R W24, no chassis mods needed 2013 Honda Accord EX-L 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 08:03 AM   #14
Winnebago Master
 
RickO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by FIRE UP View Post
Tomtall,
In my humble opinion, it's NOT working as designed. Mine, and several other coaches I've been in, that are the same era/make/model/type, also display the "50" amp, when plugged into a 50 amp service. I do have one friend that has an '06 Meridian 36G that does display only 30 amps, even when he's plugged into a 50 amp service. He's asked me why mine displays 50 when his displays 30 and we're both plugged into 50? I don't have a clue as to what the correct answer is.
Scott



Rick,
I'm by far, no expert on electricity and, on the electric side of these coaches but, just wondering, what "two 50 amp lines" are you talking about? There's only one cord and, it can plug into a 50 amp or, with the use of an adapter, can go into a 30 amp service. As I understand it, it's basically TWO, 125 VAC lines, being used in the Motor homes circuitry. One of them feeds one side and the other, feeds the other side. Are you saying that there's 50 amps in each leg of those 125V circuits?
Scott


That is the same display I, and many others we travel with show, when hooked up to 50 amps.
Scott
I think there's some confusion about what is and isn't lighting up on 50 amp service. The photo displays a properly operating system connected to 50 amp service. What is NOT lit up in the pic is the specific number of amps actually being used. THAT's the issue being discussed here.

Yes, the single 50 amp power cord contains two hot legs... each carrying 120v at 50 amps giving a 50 amp coach an available 100 amps of service.

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 08:11 AM   #15
Winnebago Master
 
Tom N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA
Posts: 1,196
__________________
Sarver, PA/Crystal River, FL/Shelocta, PA FMCA 335149 W3TLN
2005 Suncruiser 38R W24, no chassis mods needed 2013 Honda Accord EX-L 2008 Honda Odyssey EX-L
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Tom N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 10:29 AM   #16
Winnebago Master
 
cbeierl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 1,519
Quote:
Originally Posted by FIRE UP View Post
I will advise him to look at the breakers. But, a question, if any of them are tripped, then wouldn't the item being serviced by that breaker be out of service?
Scott
Yes, if a breaker is tripped the item controlled by that would be out of service.

Looking at the 110 Volt Load Center/Auto Transfer Switch diagram for the 2006 Meridian 36G (and assuming that he has the 2000W inverter), the diagram on page 5 seems to indicate (via Note /8\) that the breaker labelled 'DISHWASHER / FIREPLACE' (rightmost 15A breaker in main box) needs to be on for the EMS to function properly (even though I see no option in the 2006 Meridian Brochure for either a dishwasher or fireplace in this model!).

If he doesn't have the 2000W inverter I'm guessing the relevant breaker would still be the rightmost one, a 20A labelled 'WATER HEATER / FIREPLACE', although I don't see a specific note in the diagram to that effect.
__________________
Chris Beierl

2005 Winnebago Vectra 36RD
cbeierl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 09:11 PM   #17
Winnebago Master
 
bobmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southern Ontario
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by grtharris View Post
FIRE UP, Tell your friend to check his circuit breakers, the EMS is looking for 240VAC between the two power legs determine if the coach is connected to a 50 amp service. On some models the hot water heater breaker is one of he legs the EMS looks at for the 240VAC.
The point being by GRTHARRIS is that the EMS needs to "sense" voltage on both sides of the AC line. All of the circuitry for the Intellitec system is located in the main breaker panel. Two "sense" leads are run to different breakers - one on each side of the line.

I had a problem with my Intellitec system showing me on 30 amp service when I knew I was on a 50A service. In my Journey, the sense lead for one side of the 50a service is connected to the circuit that only has the outlet for the Engine Block Heater. In the summer, I decided that that breaker could be turned off as I would not need to use the Block heater. That was when I saw 30A service instead of 50A however I was not smart enough to relate it to the turned off breaker at the time. It was only after I checked all the Intellitec connections in the main breaker panel that it became clear why the display was showing 50 amps.

I apologize for the long explanation as to why all breakers should be turned on if you are seeing 30A on the Intellitec when you know you are on 50. GRTHARRIS' explanation was much more concise!!
__________________
Bob
09 Journey 39Z
Southern Ontario
bobmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Plugged in to 50 amp and only showing 30. dnystrom Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 35 06-17-2016 06:43 PM
Plug in to 50 amp, only getting 30 amps Lake11969 Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 15 02-27-2016 09:56 AM
Radio doesn't work on "engine", only house?? jomidabr Tech | Toys and Gear 9 12-13-2012 07:44 PM
Sleep Number Bed Displays "--" Don The Ham Winnebago General Discussions 6 02-24-2008 03:22 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×