Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2009, 05:12 PM   #1
Winnie-Wise
 
RCtime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: So. Calif.
Posts: 367
Have an amp. hour, elect. use quesation.

Preparing for a trip I was running the genny, and looked at the one system display panel in my Journey. It displayed 3amp. usage.
The only thing I had on was the refridgerator, a 4 door large refer. 2 door for freezer/2 door for fridge.
The other alarm devices, smoke/propane detectors etc that you cant turn off. thats it. no lights on nothing.
Does this sound about right?
__________________
2002 Winnebago Journey DL 34 ' Cat. 330 hp
Great wife and Charlie, Cavalier King Charles Spaniel RIP
TTN
RCtime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 05:26 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Richardson, Tx
Posts: 76
I think that is about what mine uses under those conditions an I have a smaller refrig.
__________________
Robert L Rice

2002 36GD Journey DL
Robert Rice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 05:29 PM   #3
Winnie-Wise
 
CaptBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Indian River, De
Posts: 365
Your converter was probably on, charging the house batteries.
__________________
CaptBill
USAF 1965-1971; USCG Master
2002 Horizon 36LD - 2000 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4
Indian River, De
CaptBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 05:35 PM   #4
Winnie-Wise
 
Joe-K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Butler, PA
Posts: 283
The 3 amp sounds about right for idle conditions in the motorhome. Whenever you have 120 volts supplied to the rig, whether it's via shore power or the generator, there will be phantom power loads. The inverter/charger, TV's, VCR, Microwave, and other 120 volt devices will all draw some power.

You've already identified some of the 12 volt loads such as the propane detector and refridgerator that ultimately supplied with power through the battery charger which increases it's power draw.

I would also guess that the fridge was either on propane, or the heater element was not on at the time that you read the 3 amp draw. The electric heater element in the fridge will itself draw 3 amps, but that load will cycle on and off as the thermostat in the fridge calls for more cooling.
__________________
Joe & Shelly, Justin, Tyler, Alyssa | Butler PA
2008 Tiffin Allegro Bus 43QRP|Cummins 425|Honda CRV
Joe-K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 01:17 PM   #5
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 177
My Powerline Management System of my 04 Winnebago Journey at one time displayed the amount of amps that were being used. Now there is no display at all in the Amps window although the 50A light is on. Do I have to do something special to get Amps to display? Any comments will be helpful and appreciated
jim
jimmccreary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 03:30 PM   #6
Winnie-Wise
 
CaptBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Indian River, De
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmccreary View Post
My Powerline Management System of my 04 Winnebago Journey at one time displayed the amount of amps that were being used. Now there is no display at all in the Amps window although the 50A light is on. Do I have to do something special to get Amps to display? Any comments will be helpful and appreciated
jim

Jimmy, there is nothing wrong with your system. It only displays amps being used, when connected to a 30A or less, shorepower. When on 50A hookup, it does not diaplay use, since it doesn't need to do load-shedding.
__________________
CaptBill
USAF 1965-1971; USCG Master
2002 Horizon 36LD - 2000 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4
Indian River, De
CaptBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 08:05 PM   #7
KIX
Winnebago Master
 
KIX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 587
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCtime View Post
Preparing for a trip I was running the genny, and looked at the one system display panel in my Journey. It displayed 3amp. usage.
The only thing I had on was the refridgerator, a 4 door large refer. 2 door for freezer/2 door for fridge.
The other alarm devices, smoke/propane detectors etc that you cant turn off. thats it. no lights on nothing.
Does this sound about right?
Your refrigerator has two heaters for cooling on electric. Each heater when NEW uses 225 watts or about 1.9amps each. So, your refrigerator alone could be using the 3 amps or even a little more.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2009, 10:07 PM   #8
Winnebago Owner
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 177
thanks Capt Bill
jimmccreary is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amp Hour Consumption len poleshaj Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 16 12-09-2014 09:22 AM
Have to use booster switch to start gen Why? doit2010 General Maintenance and Repair 13 05-26-2012 07:04 PM
Elect Heater Question mrsr71 Winnebago General Discussions 13 10-10-2007 01:32 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×