Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 05-17-2018, 10:04 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Generator question

I am planning on purchasing the Honda EU2200i generator for my 1808 Minnie Winnie. It should meet the surge power for the microwave but not the AC, and keep the battery charged. I have no prior expeience with generators, but from the reviews Honda generators are highly rated, and in the future it would give me the option of hooking up 2 generators in parallel to produce 30amps. Does this sound like a good plan? I presume that the RV uses a battery tender when plugged in to shore power or a generator. Is there anything that I should be concerned about. I have no prior experience with generators and my working knowledge of AC and DC power is very basic.
Starguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 11:24 AM   #2
Winnie-Wise

Honda or the equivalent Yamaha are what I am considering. When the generator is running and providing power to the trailer the converter would charge the battery just like when you are on shore power. The nice thing about these smaller generators is they can also charge the battery directly. The ability to parallel two for 30A keeps the units smaller and easier to handle as well.
old_engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 06:14 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner

I have the Honda EU2200i for my Albin boat and it works great and is very reliable. You might get something else cheaper but the Honda is quiet and reliable.
Mike Owens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2018, 06:38 PM   #4
Winnebago Master