Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-10-2013, 11:18 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Generator Hour Meter

When I purchased my 2011 Aspect C, the meter said 9.5 generator hours. I ran it some at home and it was up to 12.2 hours but it sure seemed like it was not almost three hours. Anyway, out to the RV today to do some work on the directive receiver and started the generator. Now it said 0.2 hours and when I finished it said 1.2 hours. What happened to cause the meter to reset to zero? When I shut everything down and checked the meter again, it still read 1.2 hours. Is something broke? Is there a way to recover the total hours?

I know I am asking a lot of questions on this forum about this vehicle. That is because 1) I am new to RV'ing; and 2) I don't know where else to ask.

Ed Hamilton
Cardinal Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 01:07 PM   #2
Winnie-Wise

These meters are generally tamper proof, you aren't supposed to reset them. Sounds like your's is faulty. Check the generator manufacturer and/or the meter maker and replace it. Sounds like your Generator might have a few more hours on it than you know. An oil and filter change would be in order.

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 01:23 PM   #3
Winnie-Wise

I would agree that it appears that something is wrong with your meter. It could be something as simple as a loose wire connection to the back of the meter, or at the generator. A call to Winnebago Customer Service might prove helpful.

Please don't stop asking your questions. You are where we all were at one time. There are tons of knowledgable members here on the forum more than willing to help.
Kazoo Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 01:24 PM   #4
Winnebago Watcher