Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-07-2022, 10:43 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Chassis Battery Drain 2016 Sightseer

New to the group and any help would be appreciated
2016 Winnebago Sightseer. When connected to shore line after several days the chassis battery is too weak to start engine. Brand new chassis battery tests find. Can use boost to start. If I disconnect the chassis battery at the switch I cannot raise or lower power curtains in front. Why is the chassis not getting charges from shore connection. I am no electrician so need basic recommendations or suggestions. Thanks
Smackotx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2022, 12:08 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

I had trouble with the chassis battery running down as well. I installed an after-product called Trik-L-Start that feeds a coach to chassis battery connection. Winnebago installs a similar product on some models but not the Sightseer. I've had no more problems. Since the coach batteries get constantly charged via your converter when on shore power, the Trik-L-Start "robs" power from the coach batteries to keep the single chassis battery topped off.

Mega TRIK-L-START Starting Battery Charger/Maintainer
Old 08-07-2022, 12:08 PM   #3
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smackotx View Post
Why is the chassis not getting charges from shore connection. I am no electrician so need basic recommendations or suggestions. Thanks