Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-07-2020, 01:56 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Battery Issues

Newbie here, I have a 2009 Winnebago Outlook 31. I have had it for 3 years and this is the first year that I am having battery issues. I drove 3 hours and when I got to destination the house batteries were dead. I had to charge them about every two days on my vacation. THen I got home and I left it parked for a week and it held the charge. Except my Chassis battery has gone dead. Could this be my converter that is defective?
Nannielolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2020, 02:23 PM   #2
Site Team

Could be your converter. But it could be a couple of other things as well.

Your RV is 11 years old and you've only had it 3 years. It's very possible that the house batteries were abused during those years that you did not own the RV. So, it would not be strange for them to be shot at this point. They may be fine but you'd have to test them more precisely.

I assume they are flooded lead acid and if so you would want to test the cells with a hydrometer - OR remove them and take them to an auto parts store for load testing.

Since there are a couple of things that could be the issue I'd suggest tackling the easiest thing first and that's those house batteries.

The converter charger can be tested with a multimeter as well. The other suspect parts could be your alternator or the battery isolation solenoid. The BIM is more likely an issue than the alternator.
Old 10-07-2020, 04:39 PM   #3

In this case I think you are looking for a short to ground, because you are loosing both your engine batteries and your house batteries at the same time. This "short" may be discovered in one of your RV solenoids or inside a bad battery cell.

As already recommended, I guess I would also start with what is easiest: A) Solenoid test; or B) Battery Test.

POWER GRID SOLENOIDS