Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-27-2013, 05:00 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

batteries while the rig is winterized?

I know its only the end of July but the I'm new to a class A and am trying to learn and plan. I traded in a 5th wheel with one battery when I purchased a 2013 Vista 26 HE which has three batteries, one coach and two house. The 5th wheel battery was simply charged, removed and stored in the workshop until spring.

Unless I'm wrong, after the class A is winterized, I plan on leaving the coach battery in the rig so I can drive it every few weeks to warm the engine, oil, tires and charge the battery. I know I have to remove the house batteries and plan on keeping them in the warm workshop.

Here's where I need advice. I also know I have to exercise the generator. Does the generator start on coach or house batteries? Even if its the coach battery, don't I have to put the house batteries back in the rig to turn on different systems to put a load on the generator while it is running?

Any comments, advice or guidance will be appreciated.
BBQ Judge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 05:17 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

Isn't you rig a Winnebago product; and if so, do they not all have solar panels to keep the batteries charged while in storage? The only battery that isn't attached to the solar panel is the chassis battery, so when the rig is going to be in storage for an extended period of time, I connect a battery booster cable between the + terminals of the house and chassis battery. That keeps everything fully charged.

No useful purpose can be served by removing batteries from the rig for winter storage. That just discharges them and ages them 4X faster.
Old 07-27-2013, 05:22 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner