Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-30-2018, 10:30 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Question Automatic Transfer Switch

I am needing to replace our automatic transfer switch. We had an TRC Model 51300. As you can see in the below picture, the wires melted, and shorted out. Lucky we were home at caught it before major damage.

Any recommendations on a replacement? Stick with the same brand or which brand is better?

Thanks. Glen
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ats1.jpg
Views:	240
Size:	283.5 KB
ID:	169647  
glen361 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 12:18 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

Hello Glen and welcome. I'm no expert on these matters, but I suppose I'd choose the same make/model switch that was original equipment. (Assuming that one is the OEM.) Hopefully someone more experienced will see your post and give some actual advice.
SarahW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2018, 04:47 PM   #3
Winnebago Watcher

automatic transfer switch

glen361,

I apologize for the length of the response. I can relate to your experience.

We bought a Winnie Aspect 27k on 5-11-18. On 5-22-18, while on our maiden camping trip, out ATS caught fire. We had been taking an afternoon camping nap. My wife smelled an electrical fire. I went around to the side of the RV and was over whelmed by the acrid odor. I turned off the electrical at the camping post. I felt the wire along its skin and felt no breaks. I opened the door to the electrical compartment and blue smoke rolled out. I felt the ATS box and it was extremely hot to touch.

We had the campground check the the post; it was good. I managed to open the ATS box and found fried wires.