Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-14-2021, 01:57 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Adding a solar system

Hello, newbie here, 2015 Itasca Viva 23L. I'm planning on adding a solar system and here is the suggestion I got from our local Winnie sales and service center.

Solar Kit; Solar Elite; Solar Charging System; 380 Watt Solar (Two 190 Watt Panels)/ 18.6 Amp Charging Current; Monocrystalline; 59.1 Inch Length x 26.3 Inch Width x 1.58 Inch Thickness; Screw Mount; 30 Amp PWM Digital Controller With Bluetooth/ Inverter Charger Remote; 2000 Watt Pure Sine Wave Inverter; With Mounting Hardware/ 25 Foot Length MC4 Red #10 Output Cable/ 25 Foot Length MC4 Black #10 Output Cable/ DC Inverter Install Kit. 2 battle born 100 AH 12v LiFePO4 batteries.

My reason for adding is that we currently have 1 AGM house battery and our gas powered generator is really too loud. We like to boondock occasionally and would like to limit using the generator to when we need the AC. our fridge is 3 way so I can run that on propane.

Would appreciate any recommendations/advice before I pull the trigger on this.

Also one question that I haven't found an answer to online. Can I still use the battery booster switch in the cab if the chassis battery is too weak to start?

Thanks in advance!
John
JohnW2837 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2021, 03:54 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

Are you installing the system yourself or is the dealer doing it. If the dealer is doing it, the package is ok, but I would make a few improvements:

Get them to wire the two panels in series which minimizes voltage drop and use a Renogy MPPT controller which can deal with the higher voltage and efficiently convert it to what the batteries need.

If you are doing it yourself, all of the components above can be purchased at 1/2 to 1/3 the price on Amazon. For example 200 watt panels are about $200.