Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-21-2019, 07:53 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

2019 Minnie Winnie 31g and GoPower ic2000

Hi Folks!

I'm new to the rv community and just purchased my first RV. As mentioned in the title I'm looking to install the ic2000 where the converter sits. My question is if I purchase it and replace the converter with the ic2000 do I need a switch for when I want to use the generator?

My long term plan is to eventually upgrade the battery and then step up to adding solar. I'm also planing on getting the remote panel for the ic2000 and plan to purchase battleborn's in the future. I'm thinking that since the battery compartment is kinda small I'll have to relocate the batteries and that means i have some drilling in my future.

Now as a newbie I may be getting this whole thing wrong and if I am please correct me.

Thanks in advance for any help!

-Dave

p.s. forgot to mention its a 2019 Minnie with none of the add-on's (like the 1k inverter)
MotoDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2019, 06:11 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

You might want to consider other options like placing just a smaller inverter in the same location that Winnebago's OEM solution uses.

Some comments as to why:

If you intend to run your microwave off the IC2000 you may have to upgrade your OEM batteries right away to be able to have batteries that can deliver the 150 amps DC that inverter will try to draw from the batteries while the microwave is running. That's one reason the smaller Winnebagos with only 2 coach batteries only have 1000 watt inverters, because for it to work right on a 2000 watt inverter, you really need 4 flooded lead acid or AGM coach batteries.