Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-24-2010, 01:00 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

1999 UA - Use of Gen-turi on Gen exaust

I am new to MHs with a lot still to learn. I have been reading other post about the use of Gen-turi extenders. Mostly the posts seem to relate to camping areas where a lot of MHs are close together. I am trying to keep my concerns as simple as possible for now, so is this something I should worry about for a limited use of the generator? Any documented problems with Winnebago MH if the units are not close? Is it OK to NOT worry about this for a few months?
daellishou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 02:14 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

It's OK not to worry, most people do not use them, especially for infrequent generator use.
Old 02-24-2010, 02:46 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner

Do make sure you have a functional, RV rated, CO alarm in your rig, that you know the indicators of CO poisoning (see RV Generator Maintenance Quick Tip), and don't operate the genset when sleeping. See Generator Danger Warning at the CPSC and Publication 468 - What to Know: Generators and CO At USFA Portable Generator Hazards looks good, too.

There is no need to get paranoid but reasonable concerns and precautions are always worthwhile. Do read the owner's manuals and do pay attention to their advice and guidance regarding safety issues.
BryanL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 07:39 AM   #4
Winnie-Wise