Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 07-13-2021, 04:05 PM   #1
Winnebago Master

100AH Mighty Max LiFePO4 -$550

I just noticed that both Walmart and Sears have a 100AH Mighty Max LiFePO4 (ML100-12LI34) on sale for $550 (list $950):

https://www.walmart.com/ip/12V-100AH...E&gclsrc=aw.ds

https://www.walmart.com/ip/12V-100AH...E&gclsrc=aw.ds

I have no first hand knowledge about these one way or the other and neither site has reviews.
BobC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 04:28 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

I did find this, not encouraging discussion on Will Prowse's DIY Solar Forum:

https://diysolarforum.com/threads/mi...7/#post-180263
BobC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 04:37 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper

These ongoing posts on “bargain” lithium ion scare the crap out of me. In my trailer the batteries are under the bed. Saving money on a component that will likely kill you if it enters thermal runaway is not a good idea. If you need lithium ion, buy a battleborn or other name brand battery with a real BMS.
FlyingBiskit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 05:01 PM   #4
Winnie-Wise

No issues with thermal runaway with lithium phosphate batteries in an RV. A smartphone being charged on the dash or table in the sun is another story.

The problem with waking up a overly discharged lithium-phosphate battery requires a different procedure depending on the manufacturer and at least with Lithionics they have this documented. Of course if you overly discharge a lead acid you may find yourself having to replace the battery entirely.
Elkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2021, 06:29 PM   #5
Winnebago Camper