Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > General Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 08-02-2010, 09:32 AM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Won't go in reverse!

I am new to the RV world...with that said, We just bought a 1987 Itasca Sunflyer and took it camping for the first time. I was having a problem with my rear hydraulic jacks coming down so I was told that I could assist them while someone else brought them down. That worked and they came right on down. When I brought the rig home, now it will not go in reverse! Is there a correlation between the two? It seems like it goes into gear but when given gas it feels like the emergency brakes are on. Like something is holding it back? Can anyone help?
Old 08-02-2010, 09:39 AM   #2
Winnie-Wise

Make sure that your jacks are all the way up (no chrome showing on the jack shafts) . There could be an interlock that prevents the coach from going into gear if it senses that all the jacks are not fully retracted.
Harry B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 09:53 AM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Dadzscorp:

Reverse is one of the first gears to stop working when the transmission is low on fluid, so I'd look there as well as looking at the jacks.

I had this happen to me while I was going through NYC. My symptom was sluggish shifting in the lower gears, adding fluid (about 6 qts) resolved the problem, no long-term damage fortunately.

Remember to check the fluid with the engine running and the transmission in park (if your coach is on a Ford chassis). There are marks for cold and hot, generally you are OK if the level is between the marks.

Good Luck!
Stewart
Luv2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 04:17 PM   #4
Winnebago Camper