Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-03-2022, 03:40 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Water pump noise:

Hi all, I'm new to RV ownership and my water pump makes a sound it does not normally make. Instead of the usual windmill like noise, it makes a labored grinding followed by an electric buzzing. I think the pump might be dying or something like that, do I need to replace it? is it that easy? or is it something more concerning than that?
Derek S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2022, 04:02 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

Much depends on what you have for a pump as they are not all the same!

This is a common one that shows what parts are involved on it. Not much there and nothing complex to change the parts that are most likely to fail. The hard part is often just getting in close enough in some small space!

Once reaching the pump, it likely has four screws to hold it down, two pipes for in and out and two wires to run the motor.
The repair itself is likely to need the front part removed to get to the rubber parts inside. Maybe a phillips screwdriver?

But there are different brands and different models so checking on the pump for the correct info is a good start. Then search for parts or pump to match and see what it looks like for doing it!

https://pantherrvproducts.com/shurfl...rts-breakdown/

If the screwdriver fits the hand, it's not hard from there!
Morich is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2022, 04:58 PM   #3
Winnebago Watcher

Im not sure what the exact issue is or what part, but I got a shurflo standard pump, thee issue seems to lie there.
Old 11-03-2022, 07:52 PM   #4
Winnebago Master