Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

View Poll Results: Have you installed a Safe Steer or equal
Yes I have 11 27.50%
No I haven't 27 67.50%
Undecided 2 5.00%
Voters: 40. You may not vote on this poll

Old 11-05-2013, 08:26 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Suspension & safety Question

Hi all, I'm n my 2nd Winn, the first was a 89' super chief and now a 2012 Vista T with 4000 miles.

My question is sort of philosophical, Winnebago makes a real fine MH in my opinion, so why don't they offer a option of a Safe Steer or a multitude of many other items that supposedly increase the safety of driving them.

I'm a retired mechanical engineer and wonder what's Winnebago's official line or recommendation on all these suspension add ons.

I have a funny feeling about buying a MH that's worth over $100K and then spending $500+ to make it drive & handle better.

Bob in Ohio
Velroc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 10:07 AM   #2
Winnebago Camper

Other than maybe the high end units, most RVers that I know buy a unit off the lot and I would think the marketing idea is to keep the price down as low as possible. I did three thousand in add on items and forgot to add on the valve extensions. The mechanic that I became friends dealing with the issues on the last piece of junk RV told me that they just finished an identical coach to mine that from top to bottom of the unit that there was $8K in add on items. That included from Traveler Satellite to front and rear suspension mods. If I'd been patient enough to order and wait, and could have gotten a better price, well, if a frogs had wings, he wouldn't bump his back sides when they jumped.
Old 11-05-2013, 11:06 AM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Which one would they install? Steer Safe, Safety Steer, True Center, etc... There's a lot of personal preference in that regard.