Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-27-2012, 09:19 PM   #1
Winnebago Owner

Newbie and Mountain Driving 330 Cat keeping it Cool?

Hey folks,

Driving in Colorado on I-70 west of Denver and our 2004 Meridian 36G over heated and I pulled over let it cool. It was a new rig to us and I am new to diesel operation but I drove mountains before. After letting it cool at idle, It ran rough and I called a mobile tech who changed the fuel filter that improved performance. Went to Grand Junction to MHC Kenworth at recommendation of mobile tech who said they had great CAT mechanics and had diagnostics run. No issues found and then had oil changed, lubed, cooling checked, (down 3/4 gallon) brakes checked, and air canister changed.

We continued on and it got hot in a pass in Utah.

How do I drive this diesel in the mountains and keep it cool? Where do I want the tachometer at While going up a grade? Going down isn't a problem.

Thanks a bunch. We are in Kanab, Ut now for a few days heading down Hwy 89 to Flagstaff and then to Williams.

Staff at MHC was outstanding with the Cat. Talking to dealer who said the services were done recently when we get back. Evidence to the contrary. Shame on me for not checking.

Thanks for you help.

Dave T.

2004 Meridian 36G
2008 Escape Hybrid
2005 Wrangler Unlimited
Brake Buddy
LPD218 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 09:29 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

Keep engine around 2000 rpm while climbing. You may have to manually downshift to do it.
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 09:44 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper

Check your radiator for being dirty with slobber tube residue and road grime. May need a good washout. Also keep RPM above 2000 while climbing.
stuhly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2012, 10:04 PM   #4