Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-31-2007, 02:25 PM   #1
Winnie-Wise

This is my first time filter installation experience. I have documented it (aren't digital cameras helpful) to remind myself how I did it last time. So thought I would share it to help other first timers.

Even though many of us have the Freightliner XC chassis, the manufacturer's body design seems to dictate engine air filter access. As this was my first filter installation I needed to predict an extraction path. For our 2004 Journey Winnebago 36G it seemed that the only way to remove this very large canister filter was to remove the filter's air intake assembly piping. By doing this the filter slid out through this vacated space.

Photo 01 below is the shiny new filter. I marked the date and mileage on the filter so when I crawled under I would be reminded. I have all the logs and computer reminders but nothing like an in your face reminder.

Photo 02 shows the old filter installed indicating the engine end and the air intake end.

Photo 03 shows the air intake end.

Photo 04 shows the air intake end piping.

Photo 05 shows the engine end pipe coupling almost completely removed. Note the seal bead. This seal bead must seat into a groove located inside the filter end when reinstalled. I could feel it seat when I pushed it in.

If this bead is not set into the filter's internal groove then per the instructions that came with this Racor filter "a positive seal may not be obtained. In this case catastrophic damage may be caused to the engine." This was a pretty strong warning so I made sure the coupling was seated into the groove.

Also, I found that leaving the piping side clamp (indicated in the photo) tight provided better removal and installation.

Photo 06 shows the two canister filter strap clamps in the tightened closed position.