Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-03-2008, 04:03 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Last trip out as we were coming home on I40 outside of Needles, CA we started to climb the long Needles grade. On each of the 3 long pulls the temp climbed to 220+ degrees. The warning came on the computer as well. On the longest grade it reached a max of 230.

My question is, what should I be checking to insure this does not happen next week when I make the trip again ?

I am new to desiels and pushers so any help would be great.

Thanks,
Mike..

Mike...
Buster661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 04:03 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

Last trip out as we were coming home on I40 outside of Needles, CA we started to climb the long Needles grade. On each of the 3 long pulls the temp climbed to 220+ degrees. The warning came on the computer as well. On the longest grade it reached a max of 230.

My question is, what should I be checking to insure this does not happen next week when I make the trip again ?

I am new to desiels and pushers so any help would be great.

Thanks,
Mike..

Mike...
Old 06-03-2008, 06:02 PM   #3
Winnebago Master

Mike,

I always watch the temp gauge when climbing. If it starts to go above 210 degrees, I downshift to 5th gear. Be sure to inspect your surge tank to see if you have adequate anti-freeze. Our coaches have a problem with the surge tank not holding pressure. You can read about this on the Freightliner forum. Bottom line: watch your temp gauge and anti-freeze level.
2016 Independent Publishers Book Awards Winner
LK23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2008, 03:09 AM   #4
Winnie-Wise

Another thing that might help is to shut off dash air, run the gen set and house air.

You might check the back side of the radiator too. Not really the back, but the HARD TO SEE and Hard to get to side.

'05 Meridian 36G
CHIPPYSGT is offline   Reply With Quote