Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2010, 01:19 PM   #1
Winnie-Wise
 
azloafer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 277
Inaccurate indoor temperature reading

We have the Coleman-Mach True Air Central Heating and Air Conditioning unit that comes with all the Winnebago/Itasca Coaches. The room temperature reading is off by at least 5 degrees. When it says that the room is 77 it is really 72 verified by a separate thermometer. We can also feel the difference. I took the cover off of the control unit and it appears to be a circuit board with no adjustment. Am I missing something? Is there an adjustment that I can make? Anyone else have this problem? Maybe I'll have to replace the board? Joe
__________________
2008 Itasca Latitude 39W. Cummins ISB 6.7 Turbo 340HP. Allison 6 Speed. Freightliner XCS. Michelin XRV 255/80R 22.5 LRG. SuperSteer MCU. Safe-T-Plus.
azloafer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 01:34 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper
 
Flagelpater's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 20
FWIW Some units have a remotely located temperature sensor. On my unit it is a small white piece of plastic, about the size of a half walnut shell, with slots in it. Make sure the sensor does not have an accumulation of dust or other obstruction to airflow either within the shell or outside. I have seen a relatively small amount of dust make a substantial difference.
__________________
2005 Monaco Knight, 3 Slide, 38' PST, Cummins 330 ISC, 34,000 miles on this one!
VMSpc, PressurePro, BrakeSwitch, DeLorme SA2010

2005 Honda CRV, Blue Ox, SMI Brake, TomTom Go 720
Flagelpater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 02:26 PM   #3
Winnebago Watcher
 
roboniko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1
I have the same problem with mine. Different model. Mine is zoned and 1 out of 3 readings are wrong and about 5degrees off. My sensors are mounted on the roof nearvthe intakes. In shop now to fix.
__________________
Tim Heinzen
2013 King Aire
'12 Jeep COD MWF
roboniko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 03:48 PM   #4
Winnebago Master
 
smlranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 2,170
My RVP indoor thermostat does the same thing. I actually replaced it with a new one a few years ago and it is consistently inaccurate compared to other digital T stats placed nearby.

My theory is that there is heat created by the other electronic gizmos in the One Place panel which affects the reading. Mine is mounted above the panel for the inverter and I am sure some heat rises from the electronics in that panel.
__________________
'07 Country Coach Allure 470 Siskiyou Summit #31578, Cummins ISL 425; 2014 Ford F150 toad; Air Force One Toad Brake.
Glen Allen, VA; Smith Mountain Lake, VA.
smlranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 05:05 PM   #5
Winnebago Camper
 
powerboatr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East Texas
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by roboniko View Post
I have the same problem with mine. Different model. Mine is zoned and 1 out of 3 readings are wrong and about 5degrees off. My sensors are mounted on the roof nearvthe intakes. In shop now to fix.
i have to agree
my sensors are on the ceiling in the unit.
my TV;s heat flows up tot he ceiling and tricks the a/c into thinking its 77, so by the time it cools off the coach its nearer 70, so we just run the thermostat setting up a degree to compensate
__________________
USN Retired, Life time member of the DAV.
Enjoying the 2008 Damon Tuscany 4056, no your eyes are fine, there are 6 slides
powerboatr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 04:03 AM   #6
Winnie-Wise
 
azloafer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 277
It sounds like it is something that we can just live with. At least we know that others have the same type of problem so we don't have to waste money on a new circuit board. Thanks, Joe
__________________
2008 Itasca Latitude 39W. Cummins ISB 6.7 Turbo 340HP. Allison 6 Speed. Freightliner XCS. Michelin XRV 255/80R 22.5 LRG. SuperSteer MCU. Safe-T-Plus.
azloafer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 07:55 AM   #7
Winnie-Wise
 
Doug Sage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Originally from near Portland, OR
Posts: 274
My display is also several degrees above actual room temperature. I have had the entire thermostat unit replaced for another reason and the reading is still off about the same amount. It is frustrating but we have just learned to adjust.
__________________
Doug Sage
Full timers roaming the good old US of A
2007 Itasca Suncruiser 38J
2015 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk
Doug Sage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 05:17 PM   #8
Winnebago Master
 
AFChap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: ...hopefully on the road!
Posts: 1,597
You might try pointing a ceiling air duct at OR away from the thermostat, depending on which way you want to adjust the "actual" reading....
__________________
Paul (KE5LXU) ...was fulltimin', now parttimin'
'03 Winnebago UA 40e / '17 Jeep Grand Cherokee toad
AFChap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 06:15 PM   #9
Winnie-Wise
 
azloafer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by AFChap View Post
You might try pointing a ceiling air duct at OR away from the thermostat, depending on which way you want to adjust the "actual" reading....
That's a good thought, I didn't think about it and there is an air duct nearby. Thanks, Joe
__________________
2008 Itasca Latitude 39W. Cummins ISB 6.7 Turbo 340HP. Allison 6 Speed. Freightliner XCS. Michelin XRV 255/80R 22.5 LRG. SuperSteer MCU. Safe-T-Plus.
azloafer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 05:52 PM   #10
Winnebago Camper
 
vbugles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Woodbury, NJ
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flagelpater View Post
FWIW Some units have a remotely located temperature sensor. On my unit it is a small white piece of plastic, about the size of a half walnut shell, with slots in it. Make sure the sensor does not have an accumulation of dust or other obstruction to airflow either within the shell or outside. I have seen a relatively small amount of dust make a substantial difference.
Is the sensor (walnut shell) placed in the unit or somewhere in the coach?

VBUGLES
vbugles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 08:18 PM   #11
Winnebago Camper
 
Flagelpater's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 20
One of my sensors is mounted under the front TV Cabinet the other is in the beadroom under a wall cabinet. They try to mount them about chest high, out of the sun.
__________________
2005 Monaco Knight, 3 Slide, 38' PST, Cummins 330 ISC, 34,000 miles on this one!
VMSpc, PressurePro, BrakeSwitch, DeLorme SA2010

2005 Honda CRV, Blue Ox, SMI Brake, TomTom Go 720
Flagelpater is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
indoor blower on heat pump mikf General Maintenance and Repair 7 12-22-2011 06:22 PM
Propane Level Reading Komvee General Maintenance and Repair 9 08-18-2007 06:23 PM
12V Passenger Reading Lamp Problem Don Julien Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 7 04-06-2007 08:33 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×