Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-10-2011, 12:54 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Question How should I proceed?

I am looking at an Itasca Horizon 39WD that has been on a dealer lot for close to a year. "THEY" say it has 7900 miles on it. If the diesel engine and the generator have not been run to exercise them properly what would I need to be aware of or what could I do to be sure they are in good shape after sitting on a dealer lot close to a year?
Thanks in advance for any and all information.
bbrutter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 04:01 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

Welcome to the forum......So have you been watching this unit? I am sure they have moved and ran the engine and such...Now I am not an expert but I don't think alot of damage has been done. Now in your negotiations make sure the dealer addresses, seals and belts, tires etc. You don't mention the year or the engine manufacturer...Make sure you get an extended warranty. And yes there are a ton of opinions about those..But I would not by a used RV without one..
Good Luck...Peace...D
Lemon and Tucker the Pups
Dixieray53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 04:37 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner

I have seen brand new ones that have set on lots for over two years. That in itself would not be an issue to me. I would ask if they offer any dealer warrantee. You might want to go to www.rvservicereview.com and check out the dealers reputation . That would be a good indicator of whether you even want to deal there.
az bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 09:20 PM   #4
Winnebago Camper