Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-14-2018, 07:41 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Help with winterization/storage

As a newbie I am not sure of all the possibilities and hope to get ideas from folks with some experience...

Backround: I purchased my first RV in April of this year - a week after retiring. My wife and I have been enjoying some traveling this spring and summer in our new 2018 View.

Due to my wife's health diagnosis, we need to be back home for medical treatments every 3 weeks. She is beating the odds and already doing better than her original prognosis. We would like to continue to travel this winter and use the motor home as much as possible during the limited time we most likely have left together. We have friends in Florida, Georgia, Texas and Arizona.

Problem: We live in Wisconsin. Driving back home in the winter every 3 weeks for treatment could be problematic and sounds like a lot of antifreeze adding and flushing. There will be a few 3 week cycles we will not be traveling as we have children and grandchildren back in Wisconsin.

Ideas: 1. add antifreeze down south and come home with a winterized motor home. Flush the antifreeze out when arriving back down south for another 3 weeks.
2. Leave the motor home down south somewhere - storage, parking lot, somewhere - and fly home and then fly back to the RV. Allegient airlines flies directly to where we live fairly reasonably but only from Vegas, Phoenix, and several cities in Florida.
3. Leave the motor home down south somewhere, rent a car and drive to Wisconsin and back.

Any opinions on which way might be cheapest or easiest? Any ideas on what or where a good place might be to store the motor home for a few days or up to 3 or 4 weeks at a time?
xphoneguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 08:54 AM   #2
Winnebago Owner

Quote:
Originally Posted by xphoneguy View Post