Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-25-2021, 06:07 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Grey Tank open or closed

Ok I need some help , I'm very new to travel trailers and have my first one . Micro Minnie 2108DS. After being in it full time since Nov 1 which is 2.5 months I had to have the tanks power washed on the inside , mostly the grew because of bad reads on the sensors and very slow draining of the tank . I am parked right now and have been in a full hook up site . Do I leave the grey valve open or still keep it closed until it's full . The power wash tech tells.me.to.leave it open and flush it every time I dump my black tank. Others tell me.keep it closed all the time. I need some solid guidance on this .....PLEASE.....
Thanks for the help in advance
Mark
Mstench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2021, 06:22 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

Send a message via Yahoo to rk911
best practice is to leave both tank valves closed until you are ready to dump. two, well, three reasons.

- leaving black tank open will drain the liquids and allow the solids to solidify resulting in a 'black pyramid'. not good.

- you will need the contents of the gray tank to flush out your sewer hose after dumping the black.

- leaving the valves open allows the gas generated by the waste to escape via the exhaust pipes on the roof which will not be appreciated by your neighbors.

don't expect the black sensors to work well or for long. we don't rely on them and instead dump the black once a week and the gray every 3-4 days ans on every black dump.

2016 Itasca Suncruiser 38Q
rk911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2021, 07:18 PM   #3
Winnebago Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by rk911 View Post
best practice is to leave both tank valves closed until you are ready to dump. two, well, three reasons.