RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2021, 06:38 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Lake Oswego, Oregon
Posts: 2
Elec outlets not working

Outlets in kitchen area do not work--GFCI in kitchen wouldn't work (wouldn't pop in and out at all), so replaced it. Still won't work. Checked all the circuit breakers--no problem there.

Any help or experience would be appreciated. Thanks!
KathyWhitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2021, 06:54 PM   #2
Winnie-Wise
 
Ranger Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Where the Rig is Parked
Posts: 257
Don't check the breakers. Flip them off and on one at a time. Sometimes they trip and look like they are on. Only way to tell is reset it.
__________________
Steve and Joy
2011 Itasca Meridian 40u
Where we are now
Ranger Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2021, 06:57 PM   #3
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Pflugerville/Austin, Tx
Posts: 2,612
If the GFCI will not hold it sounds like the power coming to it was gone. But there are tons of options on different RV, so which year, model, and size like 2015 Vista 31KE will be a start on looking at where things connect and what path they take to get there.
__________________
Richard
2015 Winnebago Vista 31KE on 2014 chassis
Morich is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2021, 07:23 PM   #4
Winnebago Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 573
Send a message via Yahoo to rk911
and look for a secomd GFCI. we found a second one in an exterior srorage bay.
__________________
'73,
rich, n9dko

2016 Itasca Suncruiser 38Q
rk911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2021, 05:35 AM   #5
Winnie-Wise
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Branson MO area
Posts: 303
The GFCI's will control many outlets within your unit. Have you plugged something into the other outlets? For a test you might want to unplug all the items that are plugged in, see if you can reset the GFCI when the system is clean of plug in's. Did you install the new GFCI correctly? Something else you might want to go to your main breaker panel , take the cover off and put a screw driver to all the connections to make sure they are tight. Unplug unit first however
__________________
07 Meridian 36G
Roadmaster tow dolly
Great Wife!! & Max the Frisbee chasing dog.
be happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2021, 09:53 AM   #6
Winnebago Camper
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 16
Remember to check inverter(s) for GFCIs as well.
winston74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2021, 08:00 PM   #7
Winnebago Camper
 
Bill Forbush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Alpena, Michigan
Posts: 13
Electrical tester

A no-touch voltage tester from Home Depot is a great addition to your RV toolkit. If the GFCI buttons don’t respond, it probably isn’t getting power. Check other GFCIs and breakers. If no luck start testing to find where the power stops and investigate. Good luck.
__________________
Bill & Tammy Forbush
Alpena, MI
2015 Winnebago Sightseer 33C
Bill Forbush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2021, 09:38 PM   #8
Proud “No Intent” Owner
 
Wyatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Belmont, CA
Posts: 1,032
Blog Entries: 1
It’s possible, but unlikely, there’s another GFCI that might be controlling that one although it’s more likely that the GFCI is just no longer getting power. I suggest as others have that you check all the breakers and test the back of the GFI for power.
__________________
26 m 2018 Intent Owner—Belmont, Ca, with too many upgrades to mention. Seriously...
https://www.winnieowners.com/forums/...albums248.html
Wyatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2021, 02:59 AM   #9
Winnebago Owner
 
Bo Walker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 71
I would remove the outlet plates from other outlets starting with the ones between the GFCI and the circuit panel. The electrical line probably comes from another outlet. If there are two 3 wire lines (6 wires) in the outlet box that you removed the cover from, it indicates one line furnishes currant to this outlet and the other line carries currant from this outlet to another one, which could be the GFCI. I have found a loose wire on outlets that should furnish currant to the GFCI.


You may have to read this slowly to decipher what I'm trying to say.
Good Luck
__________________
I have no Idea!
Bo Walker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some outlets not working kageykg Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 16 06-24-2018 10:46 AM
110 Outlets not working with inverter Pirate_Mike Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 18 06-20-2017 10:05 PM
Elec heat not working on unit -- Too cold outside?? kayserc General Maintenance and Repair 10 01-11-2016 09:09 AM
Part of my 120v outlets not working??? Leeorlando2 Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics 6 02-13-2015 05:37 PM
HWH Jacks working, not working and working again? Bob&Pat General Maintenance and Repair 6 06-08-2006 05:22 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Winnebago Industries or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×