Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-27-2007, 05:02 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

I will be installing a Winegard crank up satellite dish in my 2003 Sightseer and will need to drill a 1 1/4" hole in the fiberglass roof. Anyone know what kind of hole saw bit I should use? Meaning how many teeth per inch is best for our type of roof.
Thanks, Greg
oldpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 05:02 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

I will be installing a Winegard crank up satellite dish in my 2003 Sightseer and will need to drill a 1 1/4" hole in the fiberglass roof. Anyone know what kind of hole saw bit I should use? Meaning how many teeth per inch is best for our type of roof.
Thanks, Greg
oldpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 05:22 PM   #3
Winnebago Owner

I'm no expert, but as fiberglass turned to powder when drilled rather than makes shavings, I would think a fine tooth would work best.

Jeep Wrangler
Gary the Wombat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 06:15 PM   #4
KIX
Winnebago Master

I've not drilled the f/glass roof on the moho but have drilled several boat hulls. I've always used the same hole saw as used for cutting wood. Never had any problems.
Old 11-27-2007, 06:26 PM   #5
Winnebago Master

Most any hole saw will work. I have used DeWalt. I always drill a pilot hole with an 1/8" bit and drill half way thru from top with hole saw and then finish from the bottom. Make sure you drill the hole perpendicular to the roof.
1999 Jeep Cherokee & 1991 Jeep Wrangler Renegade
John Hilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 06:56 PM   #6
Winnebago Owner

I would think a fine tooth saw would give a smoother cut.

Seattle, WA
rvcarpenter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 12:14 AM   #7
Winnebago Master

Quote:
Thanks, Greg