Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > General Maintenance and Repair
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 09-06-2014, 11:34 AM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Basement Air Pros and Cons

Hello, newbie here looking at buying our first class A MH. We're interested in the 2004 to 2006 Winnebago Adventurer 33V. This unit had the basement air conditioner and I wanted to know the pros and cons of these units over the typical two roof units that most gas class A have installed. Are they better, more or less efficient than roof air, higher maintenance, noisy, do you run these while driving, would you buy another MH with basement air, etc

We also have our eyes on the 2004 to 2006 Brave 32v but it has the two air conditioner units.

Thanks

Lynn
LJV51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 12:17 PM   #2
Winnebago Camper

We have a '03 Adventurer 33V and to be honest, I wouldn't do the basement air thing again. Pro's for me is the low roof profile...but the list of con's is;

Doe's not keep up when weather gets up into the 80's and above. I feel it struggles to keep you cool. Although if it's 105 outside, 89 feels cooler. We used ours in the winter months in a mild climate (Victoria BC Canada, probably the warmest place in Canada in the winter) and we has freeze up problems below 40 if the humidity was high. Quickly corrected by putting it into air condition mode, but you can't do that every 20 minutes.

Lastly, it's right under the bed!! When it comes on in the night, it's not subtle at all. You kind of get used to it, but if we can avoid using it to heat we do...

Maintenance is minimal, keep filter clean and make sure drain plug isn't blocked.
BCIslander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 04:13 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper