Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-13-2021, 08:01 PM   #1

2004 Vintage HWH 325 Jack System Will Not Run

I picked my RV from storage after 7 months. I first sprayed the jacks with WD-40 and they retracted fine. However, when I got to my next desination the jacks would not go down, but my slideouts work normally.

When I try to manually put the jacks down or select the auto-level option, my jack motor just "freewheels" (meaning I can hear it) and nothing happens.

With the motor running I can't see any leaking hydraulic fluid either, but I suppose I need to take another look when the weather is better.

I have not checked the level of my fluid in my hydraulic reservoir, but I will do that tomorrow when the sun is shinning. Or the next day, because it's raining where I am at.

* I would think if my slideouts work fine, that my fluid level is not an issue, but I'm just a novice when it comes to HWH systems.

I reviewed the HWH manual and troubleshooting sections and it suggests I may have a bad shuttle valve. TBD.

Does anyone have another opinion, and do you know a procedure that makes it possible to free-up the shuttle valve if debris gets in it?

Note: Last summer I replaced my hydraulic fluid with std. Dexron III (no additives). I used a 12V pump to suck the hydraulic fluid out and I think I was careful not to let any debris in, but maybe I was not careful enough?

I don't believe this is a factor. But what causes a shuttle valve to go bad, except for crud clogging it up?

Note: The diagram below is a HWH 625 system, but I think it operates on the same principles as my HWH 325 system with different solenoid valves. Is that right?