Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Towing, Hitching and Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 01-03-2022, 08:15 PM   #1
LizzyB

Send a message via Skype™ to benhamliz
Should I tow my 2006 Rav 4?

Happy New Year to all.
I am a newbie Class A Motorhome owner (3rd Owner) of 1993 35'Winnebago Vectra with Cummings Diesel Pusher engine. I have been upgrading it completely and just have my generator and propane tank left to service.
I plan on traveling from Ft Lauderdale FL to Vancouver Island Canada, in March and I am debating on whether to tow my Rav 4.
Since I will travel alone I don't know if this is a good idea.
Also I would need to invest in the towing gear.
Is it easy to disconnect the car if I need to or is a real burden ?
I will be spending 6-8 months on Canada so the alternative is that I fly back to Florida and drive the car there separately. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Also, what kind of towing equipment is easy and safe enough for me to use.
I am a proficient driver and not nervous driver
benhamliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2022, 01:01 PM   #2
Winnebago Master

If you are looking at the 2006 RAV4, go to this link https://images.goodsam.com/newmotorh...yGuide2006.pdf check out page 28.

A Dinghy Towing Guide is published for each year vehicle. These are to be used as a guide, always check out your specific manual before towing.
Old 01-12-2022, 05:02 PM   #3
Site Team

There are tons of websites with flat towing info. You first must insure that your RAV is flat towable.

If it is you'll need a baseplate installed on the car, a tow bar installed on the RV's hitch, lighting on the car and auxillary breaking on the car as well.