Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-13-2021, 06:20 PM   #1
Winnebago Owner

Question about using a Ford Focus as a Toad

We recently got a tow package for our 2016 Ford Focus (Blue Ox). This is my first time towing. We have a Itasca 29VE Class A as our motorhome. The other day I went through the steps setting the car up to be towed. I had a specific question about getting the Focus ready for towing. I followed all the steps in the manual: “Push start button with foot OFF brake. Press the brake pedal and shift to neutral. Wait for a message in the display indicating that the transmission is ready. Push start button to turn power off.” After I completed these steps, I got the message, “Transmission is not in Park.” I want to make sure that is normal behavior before disconnecting the battery cable. Can any Focus users comment?
Thanks.
Old 04-13-2021, 07:08 PM   #2
Site Team

This is what I see when I look at steps to flat tow a 2016 Focus:

How to Flat-tow a 2016 Ford Focus
  1. Turn on ignition and shift into neutral.
  2. Switch climate control system to recirculated air mode.
  3. Wait for entertainment display to say transmission is ready, and then turn off the ignition.
  4. Disconnect your battery.
  5. Start your engine within 15 minutes of reconnecting the battery after towing.

Here is word for word from the 2016 Ford Focus Owner's Manual:

Quote:
Vehicles with Keyless StartNote:

Put your climate control system in recirculated air mode to prevent exhaustfumes from entering the vehicle. See Climate Control (page 103).

Note:There must be battery power to move the transmission's internal components to neutral (N) properly in Step 3. In addition, moving the gearshift to the neutral (N) position without first switching the ignition to the on position limits the towing capability to 35 mph (56 km/h) and 50 mi(80 km).

1. Release the parking brake.