Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-05-2022, 03:26 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Newb: How to determine weight rating for a weight distribution hitch?

Hello. I'm new to RV'ing and the Winnie forums - very impressed with the quality of discussions!

I have a 2020 Toyota Tundra Double with a Micro Minnie 2100 BH. How do you figure out which WDH weight rating to go with when you may tow heavy (cargo, passengers, water, grey + black water) on one trip and light on another trip?

I have read that using a WDH that is over rated (weight) can cause your trailer to jump - underrated might not do enough good?

Based on the weights of my Tundra + MM2100, I was thinking 6,000# rating would be the sweet spot. But then, I haven't even towed the thing yet so this is purely textbook / guestimate.

Any feedback would be helpful! Thanks!
jasonarnone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2022, 01:43 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

Jason. There are a lot of things associated with towing. Knowing which WDH you will need requires you to know what your tongue weight is. You mentioned when it’s “heavy”, you will need to weigh it heavy. For example. I have a blue ox that is rated for 750. My current tongue weight will fluctuate between 680 to 720. I can easily go to 800 if I am not careful with my loading. Your MM hitch weight of 430 “dry” but have a GVWR of 5500lbs assuming max trailer weight with a heavy tongue off 15%, you hitch weight would be 825lbs. Unfortunately I’m at the “transition” point with my WDH. There might be a WDH that has a better weight range. Besides that. Take in consideration payload. Heavier the tongue more payload is added to the truck. Hope this helps a bit.
Old 02-07-2022, 03:27 PM   #3
Winnebago Master