Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-18-2019, 12:01 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Car dolly question

I have an older master tow dolly. How freely should the the base the tires sit on and the trailer frame pivot? Wouldn't seem like it should be loose but I'm not able to move it with a ratchet strap. Thanks.
skes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 05:19 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

Show a picture.
Lmonger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 03:21 AM   #3
Winnebago Master

If your master tow is anything like my roadmaster. Mine has a slide Teflon pad on each side. The pad is attached to the ramp part between that and the tire pan. That pad has to be cleaned and greased ever so often. I will clean and grease about twice a year depending on use.
be happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 04:44 PM   #4
Winnebago Owner

I have a Master Tow dolly that is about 3 years old and my center pivot is tight! I can move it by hand but it takes some force to do. As one other poster said, probably cleaning and greasing is going to be your best remedy.
jimkamery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2019, 07:02 PM   #5
2002 Journey WPK36GD