Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNEBAGO TECH & TOW > Towing, Hitching and Vehicles
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 01-13-2020, 07:14 AM   #1
Winnebago Master

ACME and AMERICAN tow dollies

We are getting ready to order a tow dolly and have been looking around at different models. The ones offered by dealers here in the Phoenix area are Master, Stehl and Demco and I don't know anything about any of them except the specs that I can see on the websites.

I have also seen online offers for both Acme and American tow dollies, at a lower price, but know even less about those because I can not actually go anyplace to see them.

Since I have no experience with car tow dollies I thought it would be helpful to ask if anyone can give me any information about the online versions, the Acme and American. The guy at American made a big deal about how their dollies are made in the US and use larger tires but it is hard to know what is "market speak" and what is real. I would appreciate any information on the online models that people might have.
AJMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2020, 05:32 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

don't know anything about the online dollies, but i have the Master with built in surge brakes and have been very happy towing our Mini cooper..no problems at all. I do notice a difference with the weight when I put my Grand Caravan on it but that is to be expected...I would not imagine there would be much difference with any of the makes of tow dollies except the ones with brakes or not...I am not an expert so someone correct me if i am mistaken...
Reniram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 04:24 AM   #3
Winnebago Master