Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-13-2019, 06:20 PM   #1
2106 DS Micro Minnie

2106DS and Curt Echo Wireless Brake Controller

Hi Folks,
I recently bought a 2018 Minnie 2106DS, a 2016 GMC Canyon and a new Curt Echo Wireless Brake Controller. I am having great difficulties with braking. No matter how I set the controller the camper reacts badly. It sometimes jerks when applying or releasing the brakes and sometimes the brakes lock up at lower speeds. No smooth stops what so ever.
Full disclosure; I have no previous experience with campers or brake controllers.
Questions:
Any one else have this problem?
Are the trailer brakes self adjusting?
What do you think the reason for the problem may be?
Your thoughts or experiences with any of the above.
stoney1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2019, 08:10 PM   #2
Winnie-Wise

I also have a CURT Echo...there is a attachment 'protocol' that you must follow, or your CURT Echo will not properly interrogate the trailer attached to it...

1. Turn on your engine. This MUST be running before you attach anything.
2. Firmly seat the CURT Echo blue-toothed enabled brake control module into your 7 pin female tow vehicle plug in.