Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-07-2018, 09:37 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

14" vs. 15" wheels

I'm about to purchase my first TT Minnie micro 2100BH (dual axle). What are the pros and cons in regards to either size? If it makes sense to have 15's I'd like to upgrade during the purchase.
Thank you all for your input.
Filshere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 06:37 PM   #2

I have 14s and upgraded to Load Range D tires. You can find Load Range E tires in 15s but not 14s. At 3,760 dry and a max of 7,000 max I don’t believe LR E are necessary for that TT even with enough clearance.

Have you had issues with 14 inch TT tires?
LarryW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2018, 09:10 PM   #3
Winnebago Camper

That's good info. I'm new to towing and this is my first TT so I have no experience with trailer tires. Assuming you didn't know the exact specs. of the trailer I'm buying, I appreciate you looking up the model to see what the dry and loaded weights are. I'm still a bit puzzled why there are so many discussions around trailer tire issues, blowouts, etc. I can't wrap my head around it since my tow vehicle curb weight is 4300lbs and there is no concern with the tires ripping appart when I drive to work. I haven't researched this yet but plan to. Thanks again!
Old 05-21-2018, 09:28 PM   #4

Top TT tire rules IMO: One, inflate to max sidewall pressure and check every morning. Two, buy new tires every three years. Three, protect from sun whenever stopped for more than three days. Four, kick them for pressure and touch tires and hubs for heat at every stop. Five, change a tire at home as if you were on the road. No need to simulate rain, wind, heat, cold, sleet, snow or speeding trucks. Consider building a wooden ramp instead of using a jack.
Old 05-21-2018, 09:44 PM   #5
Winnebago Master

Quote:
Originally Posted by Filshere View Post