Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNIEOWNERS COMMUNITY FORUMS > Campgrounds, Travel and Attractions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 04-18-2019, 06:35 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

how many miles should you plan to travel per day?

I am new to rving. Just purchased a 2000 35u with 18,000 miles. It has been setting up for quit a while so I expect I will encounter problems. My question is this: about how many miles should you plan to travel per day? I was thinking about booking reservations as we travel from Virginia to Alaska. Thanks fopr any help
pastordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 06:41 AM   #2
Site Team

There are so many answers to this question. We've done 600 mile days just to cover areas where there isn't anything we want to see and we just want to get through it. It's nearly impossible to string multiple days like that together. Many people look at the speed they like lt travel x a number of hours that they want to be on the road. I despise driving the RV at night so we adjust accordingly.

I'm comfortable at about 350-400 if we're just trying to get someplace.
Old 04-18-2019, 07:38 AM   #3
Winnie-Wise

Depends how much you like driving, physical condition, how rested you are. If it's a boring monotonous drive or not.
For the long runs..........know your limits, frequent breaks to stretch your legs, check your equipment.
Many many years ago I drove "team" semi trucks. We usually put in 5,000 plus miles per week.
If your head nods......it's time for a rest, cold drinks help, something to snack on helps. Light meals. Good conversation.
Take your time, drive at a reasonable safe speed.
Know when to say "when"
Ret.LEO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2019, 07:47 AM   #4
Site Team