Winnebago Owners Online Community

Winnebago Owners Online Community (http://www.winnieowners.com/forums/)
-   General Maintenance and Repair (http://www.winnieowners.com/forums/f259/)
-   -   Basement A/C (http://www.winnieowners.com/forums/f259/basement-a-c-337746.html)

rjfox 04-29-2017 04:03 PM

Basement A/C
 
How do I check to see if Compressor 2 is actually coming on ? and what would I check in area with board and wiring ? have checked breaker all good there , and with Gen running so I can see how many amps its drawing what should that show with 1 and 2 compressors working , haven't found any loose or burnt wires

BFlinn181 04-29-2017 05:07 PM

Each compressor probably runs at ~12 -14 amps (according to compressor size) and it spikes higher as it starts up. If you turn off the breaker to unit 1, only unit 2 should run.

rjfox 04-29-2017 05:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BFlinn181 (Post 3574108)
Each compressor probably runs at ~12 -14 amps (according to compressor size) and it spikes higher as it starts up. If you turn off the breaker to unit 1, only unit 2 should run.



2 does nothing so ill have to dig a little deeper , Thanks

MutinyGuy 04-29-2017 05:25 PM

You should see ~23 amps with both compressors running. Number 2 won't come on if number 1 compressor is not running. So you can't flip the breaker to number 1 and expect the 2nd compressor to run...
What year coach/model do you have? Have you checked the start/run capacitors?

rjfox 04-29-2017 05:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MutinyGuy (Post 3574129)
You should see ~23 amps with both compressors running. Number 2 won't come on if number 1 compressor is not running. So you can't flip the breaker to number 1 and expect the 2nd compressor to run...
What year coach/model do you have? Have you checked the start/run capacitors?



I have 1 running and notice no difference with 2 I have a friend who's good with Elec coming over tomorrow to do some checking , are the Capacitors the larger round Grey or the smaller black pieces , 2006 Itasca Ellipse

BFlinn181 04-29-2017 05:41 PM

The capacitors are about the size of a tomato paste can. They store large amounts of electricity, even when the power is off and can be a real dangerous shock hazard. There are many YouTube videos available on testing and replacing them.

rjfox 04-29-2017 05:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BFlinn181 (Post 3574145)
The capacitors are about the size of a tomato paste can. They store large amounts of electricity, even when the power is off and can be a real dangerous shock hazard. There are many YouTube videos available on testing and replacing them.



Will give that a look thanks

MutinyGuy 04-29-2017 05:44 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rjfox (Post 3574142)
I have 1 running and notice no difference with 2 I have a friend who's good with Elec coming over tomorrow to do some checking , are the Capacitors the larger round Grey or the smaller black pieces , 2006 Itasca Ellipse

Yes each compressor has a run and a start capacitor so 4 capacitors total. Wouldn't be surprised if your capacitor(s) to the 2nd compressor are toast. They are easily purchased online or through a WGO dealer like Lichtsinn.
Let us know what you discover.

rjfox 04-29-2017 05:52 PM

Thanks all for the help looks like i need to test capacitors first

Ray,IN 04-29-2017 10:34 PM

There are many threads about the Coleman basement heat pump. IMO the best information here is from "Duner" https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&p...zBiZTYxYzU5ZWQ
Winnebago basement heat pump: AC under the coach,removal Airxcel RV Products Service locations basement air conditioner compressor Motorhome RV HVAC Controls - Evans Tempcon Start Device Package for Coleman Air Conditioners 8333A9021: Automotive Basement A-C Removal Procedure-Revised 8-24-2013.pdf Coleman Mach 2 Two TON Plus Basement Air Conditioner W/HP 24,000 BTU 46515-811 Basement A/C Removal & Outdoor Blower Replacement Procedure - iRV2 Forums Replacing the Coleman Mach thermostat with an Ecobee Coleman 46515-811 69859 Two Ton Plus Basement Central Air Conditioner 24000 BTU

DancinCampers 04-30-2017 09:45 AM

Make sure tstat is set at least 5 deg below room temp.

I would start by checking the 12vdc tstat Y2 cable on the tstat pigtail. This is what signals the #2 compressor to start. If 12vdc, I would then check for 12vdc on EMS circuit board, as the #2 compressor runs thru the EMS. If present, then check for 12vdc on basement pc board.

If the #2 compressor and run capacitor are good, and #2 start capacitor is bad, the compressor should try to start, indicating amps on your panel to go very high for a short period before compressor internal overload trips.

Put tstat in electric heat mode and set temp above room temp and see if #2 starts. In heat mode, all operations are handled by pc board once tstat calls for heat.

DAN L 05-01-2017 01:19 AM

Rjfox,
Http://bryantrv.com
Has good troubleshooting info.

rjfox 05-01-2017 07:42 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DAN L (Post 3576301)
Rjfox,
Http://bryantrv.com
Has good troubleshooting info.



Thanks will have a look

Pacakazz 05-01-2017 08:50 AM

My #2 compressor does not turn on under generator power, just under shore power will it kick on.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.