Winnebago Owners Online Community

Winnebago Owners Online Community (http://www.winnieowners.com/forums/)
-   Electrical | Charging, Solar and Electronics (http://www.winnieowners.com/forums/f260/)
-   -   Plugged in to 50 amp and only showing 30. (http://www.winnieowners.com/forums/f260/plugged-in-to-50-amp-and-only-showing-30-a-295651.html)

dnystrom 06-16-2016 04:58 PM

Plugged in to 50 amp and only showing 30.
 
We are at a camp ground in Santa Rosa NM and hooked in to a 50 amp plug with a surge guard and the Powerline EMS is only showing 30 amp service.
I think it's the pedestal. The surge guard shows no faults but it shows 15 anps on 1 leg and 11 amps on the other leg. Any Ideas??:confused:

Clifftall 06-16-2016 05:10 PM

Check your main breaker panel to see if one is switched off . That might make the EMS show that your on 30 amps.

docj 06-16-2016 05:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnystrom (Post 3118696)
We are at a camp ground in Santa Rosa NM and hooked in to a 50 amp plug with a surge guard and the Powerline EMS is only showing 30 amp service.
I think it's the pedestal. The surge guard shows no faults but it shows 15 anps on 1 leg and 11 amps on the other leg. Any Ideas??:confused:

If you were on 30A service you wouldn't even have two legs showing. Are you sure that this isn't displaying the power being used rather than the power available?

Steve Ownby 06-16-2016 05:50 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dnystrom (Post 3118696)
We are at a camp ground in Santa Rosa NM and hooked in to a 50 amp plug with a surge guard and the Powerline EMS is only showing 30 amp service.

I think it's the pedestal. The surge guard shows no faults but it shows 15 anps on 1 leg and 11 amps on the other leg. Any Ideas??:confused:


The 50 amp power may be wired incorrectly. Most EMS systems look for 240 VAC between the two hot legs. If it sees 240 then it assumes 50 amp. If the 50 amp AMP is wired so both legs are from the same phase, the EMS will not see 240 between the legs and assumes 30 AMP power.

It's also possible, if you have one of the breakers turned off, that might also cause the same thing. Many times, the EMS will have of its sensors attached at a breaker. If you have that particular breaker off, then the EMS will not be able to see 240 any will assume 30 amp.

dnystrom 06-16-2016 05:53 PM

All the breakers are good.
docj,
I really dont know if it the amperage I'm using or that I'm hooked up to. I'm assuming it's the draw on the pedestal as the powerline shows about the same in the coach. I started the micro,fridge,air conditioner and the powerline started to shut things down like the air,fridge. So it did get overloaded and kind of makes me believe I'm only getting 30 out of that pedestal. We go to a different camp tomorrow so we'll see. We had 50 amps at the panel this morning before we left. Everything is working just can't run it all at the same time. To be continued.....

dnystrom 06-16-2016 05:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steve Ownby (Post 3118759)
The 50 amp power may be wired incorrectly. Most EMS systems look for 240 VAC between the two hot legs. If it sees 240 then it assumes 50 amp. If the 50 amp AMP is wired so both legs are from the same phase, the EMS will not see 240 between the legs and assumes 30 AMP power.

It's also possible, if you have one of the breakers turned off, that might also cause the same thing. Many times, the EMS will have of its sensors attached at a breaker. If you have that particular breaker off, then the EMS will not be able to see 240 any will assume 30 amp.

Well Steve, That's what I'm thinking and thought that all along as we have never run into this before. We are in Santa Rosa NM if you know what I mean.
Not recommended by us but we had no other options. A new camp tomorrow.

rgvtexan 06-16-2016 06:03 PM

If you have a Volt Meter measure the volts at the pedestal. It very well may be a phony 50 Amp. you should measure 210-250 volts a cross the 2 side slots. If it is ~ 120 it is wired wrong.

Bigd9 06-16-2016 06:20 PM

We have run into several campgrounds that advertised 50 amps but the display inside the coach only shows 30 amps. Someone said it was a cheap 50 amp service because they used the same wire for both legs and put in a 50 amp breaker thinking they are really providing 50 amps.

powderman 06-16-2016 06:36 PM

Docj nailed it.

rgvtexan 06-16-2016 07:27 PM

OT There is a good Mexican restaurant there, used to be a Drive In. Met the owner a few years ago, many good story of the route 66 Days. We stayed at the State campground.

dnystrom 06-16-2016 07:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bigd9 (Post 3118802)
We have run into several campgrounds that advertised 50 amps but the display inside the coach only shows 30 amps. Someone said it was a cheap 50 amp service because they used the same wire for both legs and put in a 50 amp breaker thinking they are really providing 50 amps.

Well the bitch is that they charged an extra 10 bucks for the 50 amp service!

dnystrom 06-16-2016 07:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rgvtexan (Post 3118908)
OT There is a good Mexican restaurant there, used to be a Drive In. Met the owner a few years ago, many good story of the route 66 Days. We stayed at the State campground.

If it's on the way up the hill to this park we're in it's closed. We were here last July on our way home and it was closed then if that's the one. On the right going north on 66 from 40.

Jim T. 06-16-2016 08:01 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by dnystrom (Post 3118696)
We are at a camp ground in Santa Rosa NM and hooked in to a 50 amp plug with a surge guard and the Powerline EMS is only showing 30 amp service.

I think it's the pedestal. The surge guard shows no faults but it shows 15 anps on 1 leg and 11 amps on the other leg. Any Ideas??:confused:


Build or buy yourself one if these. I built mine & use it to test campground pedestal before we even pull into the site. It will give you information you need to determine if there's a problem with the pedestal. It will also indicate a "fake" 50 amp (no "red" light=fake)
Attachment 130419




Jim & Shirley & Abbie (Scottish Terrier)
2013 Newmar Canyon Star 3911
2005 Dodge Grand Caravan - Braun Accessibility Modified Toad
Remco Lube Pump
5 Star Tune
Progressive Industries EMS-HW50C
Coach Net Emergency Road Service

dnystrom 06-16-2016 08:10 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rgvtexan (Post 3118783)
If you have a Volt Meter measure the volts at the pedestal. It very well may be a phony 50 Amp. you should measure 210-250 volts a cross the 2 side slots. If it is ~ 120 it is wired wrong.

Im only getting 116 on the 2 side slots each side. going from each side to the nutreal on the bottom. The ground is on top


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.