Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-03-2018, 04:13 PM   #1
Peaceful Explorer

New to us 2003 Itasca Sunrise 36M (Ford)

Hello,

After renting class C's for our summer adventures and three long years of actively shopping, we finally bought a "new to us" 2003 Itasca Sunrise 36M (Ford). We picked it up Saturday morning and spent Saturday night in it for the first time!

We have several trips planned for the summer, including the Finger Lakes Wine Festival in July. This will be our sixth year there, but the first time with our very own motor home instead of an expensive rental. If you are attending the 2018 FLWF, please let us know, we are in the "F" loop.

I'm an old electronics engineer now working at a desk job, so I have lots of tinkering ideas about upgrading the AV entertainment systems, adding solar panels, upgrading the backup camera, etc. I look forward to learning from what others are doing with theirs and rolling up my sleeves!

Rand & Eliza
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0002.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	277.8 KB
ID:	169363  
RzRzRzR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2018, 03:07 PM   #2
Winnebago Owner

Rand. I am also new, about a few weeks. We've never rented, etc.. so even more new than youses. What peaked my interest was your mention of a backup camera; I have a 2002 Sightseer with a B/W CRT backup cam - that displays lines quite well.

My rig is over at my local electronics installer getting an eRapta 7" color cam off Amazon installed. He is fairly confident that the 2002 buried cable will adapt to 2018 technology. He's also installing some emergency vehicle stop lamps up quite high as my taillights are too low/dim to my mind along with some amidships yellow, LED markers in case the person in the next lane cannot read my mind. The other side markers are also being switched out to LEDs. (at 2-for-$12 on Ebay - silly not to)