Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-20-2019, 10:02 PM   #1
Winnebago Owner

New to the whole RV thing.

I have been reading (and learning) here for a while now and finally was able to register after numerous failed attempts. I was born/raised in Germany, moved to the US in 1985 and just retired a few month ago after spending 33 years in military (some AD, mostly full-time MO National Guard where I worked as a maintenance shop supervisor).

Anyway, we always wanted to try the RV life. We decided to buy an older RV outright to see if we like the lifestyle before buying a new or almost new RV. I wanted a Winnebago because of the reputation and the fiberglass roof, I also wanted one that either has no slide out or is fully functional with the slide out retracted.

I found a 2006 Sightseer 30B (P32, 8100, 4L85E) which was really cheap because the last owner decided to remove the dinette and couch to put some big recliners in there. So I ordered new Rec-Pro furniture and a new mattress. I spent about two days cleaning and disinfecting and then sanitized it with a Ozone generator (my wife says I have a little OCD when it comes to cleanliness). I also bought a Dometic porcelain toilet (have yet to figure the fittings out) because we didn't like the nasty plastic toilet. Replaced the front shocks, changed fluids and other small maintenance tasks. Next month I am getting all ball joints replaced, Super Steer springs installed, alignment and new tires (6 years old Chine tires).

On the plus side, the RV came with all books, new flat screen TVs and the complete and documented maintenance and repair history for everything that was ever done to it. It also has the Safety-Steer set up, runs and drives really good. All the systems work (haven't tried the water heater yet or the TV antennas).