Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNIEOWNERS COMMUNITY FORUMS > Welcome Mat
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 07-26-2018, 05:57 PM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Hello! Trying to choose between view or trailer

Hello! I'm an avid traveler and hiker. I've been to every US state but maine, and am trying to visit every national park now. I've been to 38 so far. When traveling, i often hike 10-20 miles a day, seeking out harder and more remote trails, where i can get the best landscape/wildlife photos ( i'm a somewhat serious amateur photographer ).

Oh, i'm male, 45, single, runner, yogi, vegan.

I rented an rv for a week recently, driving from chicago to phoenix, hitting national parks, and i really enjoyed this process.

I've been wanting buy an rv, and am getting ready to pull the trigger. My goal would be to travel 3-4 months a year ( my job is flexible ).

I didn't like the thor coach i rented though, and was appalled by the fuel economy. I got 8.1 mpg, and they were really impressed and told me a lot of people got 6.8-6.9.

After some research, i decided the winnebago view was for me, best quality, utility, furl economy. I decided i wanted to budget 60-80K for as new as i could get.

I have a subaru outback that i'd swap for some vehicle i could use as a toad. Maybe a jeep cherokee.

Then i saw the micro minnie and got confused. For significantly less than the lower end of 60K i was looking into spending on a used view, i could get a new micro minnie and a nice used diesel tow vehicle ( say, touraeg ).

It seems the latter would be easier to maintain and fix? The tower+trailer is longer than an rv, but not an rv+toad. Not sure which would be easier to drive.