Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Winnebago Owners Online Community > WINNIEOWNERS COMMUNITY FORUMS > Welcome Mat
Click Here to Login
Register FilesRegistry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

Old 06-15-2018, 08:55 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

battery consumption by refrigerator

Hello,

I am a newbie to the RV world and have recently purchased a 2018 View 24V. On our maiden voyage my wife were dry camping and I noticed that the refrigerator consumes the batteries each night. If the refrigerator is left on high or if anything else is used (tv, furnace, water pump, etc.) the batteries deplete to a point that somewhere during the night the refrigerator will no longer turn on. The freezer begins to melt and the refrigerator warms up until the sun comes up high enough to begin solar charging or I have a chance to run the generator.

I met a couple with a 2017 View and their frig had an option to run on propane. They had no problems. Mine refrigerator is strictly AC or DC - no propane. I read the owners manual and it says "do not run refrigerator just on DC batteries as it will deplete the batteries.

Am I doing something wrong or was I sold an expensive RV that isn't really set up to dry camp? If I am not plugged into shore power I have to be fully charged before nightfall, turn the frig on low and don't run anything else in order to keep the refrigerator running!

I am wondering if I complained to Winnebago if I would get any help or satisfaction.

Any advice would be appreciated.
xphoneguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 09:16 AM   #2
Winnie-Wise