Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-17-2018, 08:41 AM   #1
Winnebago Owner

Winter Storage II

Sorry about the title ....but it fits.

Anyway. I am new to the MH world having had TT's for 12 years. MH have "stuff" I need to understand that TT's didn't so I need the benefit of more experienced MH folks.
I store essentially inside actually under roof and enclosed on three sides.

So, do I need to be concerned about the MH setting for 6 months such that I would pick iy up and operate it for a couple of hours to :
a. keep tires from developing flat spots
b. Lubricate transmission and engine seals by driving the MH
c. Exercise the generator
d. Check the batteries, both house batteries and engine battery.

None of the above concerned me with the TT. I brought the battery home and put it on "Battery Minder" and put the TT in storage for the winter and never seemed to have a problem with the tires.

So any advice I can get will be helpful.

Thanks
Old 10-17-2018, 09:34 AM   #2
Winnebago Master

I was told by the truck shop that repairs my Itasca (they're RV'rs as well) that I should drive it (not idle it) every month or so and to make sure I drove far enough to get it up to operating temperature and cruising speed for fifteen minutes or so. I was also told to keep the fuel tank full. You'll also want to exercise your generator when you do this.

As far as your batteries are concerned, if you aren't going to be connected to power or solar, you want to make sure that they're disconnected from any "parasitic" loads (all those LEDS, alarms, etc.) Your house battery most likely has a disconnect switch but your coach battery may need to be disconnected. I'd suggest adding a battery post mounted switch to it. Otherwise, it's pretty much the same as dealing with your TT batteries.
BobC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 12:28 PM   #3
Winnebago Master