Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-31-2019, 05:41 PM   #1
Winnebago Watcher

Turning on furnace while driving?

Hi, I'm new to RV'ing and have a question. Can I turn on the propane furnace while I am driving the RV to get the coach warmed up before I reach My destination?
MikeG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 05:51 PM   #2
Let's kill some bugs!

Yes.
John Locke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2019, 06:01 PM   #3
Winnebago Master

Send a message via Yahoo to rk911
yup. no worries.

2016 Itasca Suncruiser 38Q
rk911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2019, 11:57 AM   #4
Winnebago Master

Sure can.

Using it on the road also gives you a chance to make sure that the furnace propane setup is correct. If the flame gets blown out too often by road wind, that means the air setup is incorrect. Not a big deal, happens all the time. Your owners manual for the furnace will show how to adjust it. Easy.

Visit my RV Travel & Repair Blog at : https://chaos.goblinbox.com
Jim_HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 04:10 PM   #5
Winnebago Owner

Why not? I do it all the time. Close off unused rooms or close their vents to keep the main cabin warm.
DGundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 05:05 PM   #6
Winnebago Owner

Be sure and turn it off--including the refrigerator or water heater, before fueling!

There are some tunnels where the propane must be turned off. A few have restrictions about size and type.

I note that my Via's refrigerator selects 12 volts if we are driving.

I personally feel better if the propane is off when driving. We used to do "ski camping" at Mammoth Mountain--and only ran the heater when we were parked. (that was over 40 years ago)
thataway4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2019, 05:58 PM   #7
Winnebago Master