Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-04-2012, 11:17 AM   #1
Winnebago Camper

Question Looking for a adapter to hookup to natural gas.

Where do I find one?
Winnabango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:32 AM   #2
Winnebago Camper

I believe you will also have to change all the jets in your gas appliances.
Something to think about.
RMinflorida is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:34 AM   #3
Winnebago Watcher

While you may be able to rig up something to adapt to natural gas, I think it would be a bad idea. I am not an expert on various gasses but I know that there are differences in the properties of LP and natural gas. At different times I have purchased appliances for our home (LP supplied) and I have always had to install a conversion kit to change from natural (the way gas units are normally furnished by the manufacturer) to LP gas. This usually involves installing different size orifices or venturi in each burner.

We had a trailer built for us and specified a residential size refrigerator and 4 burner range top. When we tried to use the cook top the first time we had wild sized flames coming out. The trailer builder had never made the adjustment to the burners. In this particular instance, the cook top was built with the ability to burn either fuel and all I had to do was follow the directions that came with it to convert it to LP from natural.

Happy trails, Randy

2003 43RLQSO Travel Supreme
R.B. Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:37 AM   #4
Winnebago Watcher

Its not that simple, RV's were designed to run on propane, orphis sizes are different, etc. if you are dead set, call a plumber/hvac guy.
JayAre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 01:02 PM   #5
Winnebago Master